This is the "Getting Started" page of the "History: Ancient" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History: Ancient   Tags: history  

Use this subject guide to help you get started with your research in Ancient History. It includes books, research databases, journals, and links to useful web sites.
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/ancienthistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Chronologies

Arts and Humanities through the Eras. (5 vol.) REF NX440 .A787 The first 3 volumes of this series are comprised of ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome, and Medieval Europe, respectively. Categories are arranged under humanities (Architecture, Dance, Fashion, etc.), and contain images, maps, bibliographies, and primary sources.

Cambridge Ancient History. (multi-volume) REF D57 .C252  Excellent source for detailed background information; organized both chronologically and by region.

Civilizations of the Ancient Near East. (4 vol.) REF DS57 .C55 Comprehensive essays organized by topic which focus on Egypt, Syro-Palestine, Mesopotamia, and Anatolia; refer to the extensive index in volume 4.

History of Humanity. REF CB69 .H59 (especially vol. 1- 3) Volumes are arranged chronologically and contain both thematic and country specific scholarly essays on the history of humanity, beginning with prehistory.

 

  Atlases

Ancient World Mapping Center: Maps for Students  Free downloadable maps depicting ancient sites, monuments, landscapes, and military campaigns.

Atlas of Classical History. REF Atlas G1033 .G65 Annotated maps ranging from 1700 B.C. to 565 C.E.; contains useful index of place names.

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. REF Atlas G1033 .B3 Detailed maps organized by region of the ancient Greco-Roman world; CD available in the back of the book.

 

  Biographies

Who’s Who in Ancient Egypt. REF DT76 .R53 Contains information on notable ancient Egyptians, as well as a few related essays.

Who’s Who in the Greek World. REF DE7 .H39 Brief entries focusing on literary and historical personages from ancient Greece.

 

Ancient Africa, Egypt and the Near East Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African History
Call Number: REF DT20 .E53
ISBN: 1579582451

Cover Art
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Call Number: REF DT58 .O94
ISBN: 0195102347

Cover Art
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East
Call Number: REF DS56 .O9
ISBN: 0195065123

 

Ancient Greece and Rome Encyclopedias

 

Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World
Call Number: Website
Project devoted to collecting and presenting information on hellenic culture.

Cover Art
The Oxford Classical Dictionary - Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor); Esther Eidinow
Call Number: REF DE5 .O9
ISBN: 0198606419
Electronic and print versions available at MU.

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium - Alexander P. Kazhdan (Editor)
Call Number: REF DF 521 .098
ISBN: 0195046528
Electronic and print versions available at MU.

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome - Michael Gagarin; Elaine Fantham
ISBN: 0195170725
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Electronic, scholarly encyclopedia from Oxford University.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece
Call Number: REf DF16 .S23
ISBN: 0415973341

Cover Art
Brill's New Pauly Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Call Number: REF DE5 .N4813 (Antiquity) or REF DE5 .N4813 (Classical)
ISBN: 9004122591
Both sets contain entries on Greek and Roman culture.

 

Ancient Mesoamerica Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Ancient Mesoamerica
Call Number: REF F1219 .B932
ISBN: 0816024022

Cover Art
Oxford Encyclopeida of Mesoamerican Cultures
Call Number: REF F1218.6 .O95
ISBN: 0195108159

 

Other Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Call Number: REF CB311 .E54
ISBN: 0893560383

Cover Art
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present
Call Number: REF GT31 .G74
ISBN: 0313325413

Cover Art
World Encyclopeida of Archaeology
Call Number: REF CC70 .W68
ISBN: 1554073111

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Gail Flatness
Contact Info
Reinsch Library Room 145
703-526-6845
gail.flatness@marymount.edu
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the refererence desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu

 

Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip