This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Art and Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art and Art History   Tags: art, history  

Last Updated: Dec 15, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/arthistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guides and Encyclopedias

Cover Art
A Short Guide to Writing about Art
Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015

Cover Art
Writing about Art
Call Number: N7476 .S29 2002

Cover Art
Grove Art Online  Icon
Call Number: Electronic book
Part of Oxford Art Online, this scholarly art encyclopedia, covers both Western and non-Western art. Print edition avaialble at REF (1st Floor) N 31 .D5 1996

Cover Art
Oxford Companion to Western Art  Icon
Call Number: Electronic book
Includes entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques.

Cover Art
Bloomsbury Guide to Art  Icon
Call Number: Electronic book
Comprehensive surveys of the history of art and architecture available today.

 

Getting started in Art History

To research topics in art and art history, a wide variety of library resources are necessary. Art research encompasses the study of painting, drawing, sculpture, printmaking, design, graphic arts, and it draws on other subjects such as geography, anthropology, and mass media.

Navigate through the tabs at the top of this guide to discover and gain access to reference encyclopedias and dictionaries, books, journals, research databases, and web resources. You will also find helpful tips and strategies on searching databases and evaluating information you find over the internet.  The tab for Images offers links to many online sources of images which you can incorporate in your coursework.

***Several significant portions of this guide were created by Claire Dannenbaum and Dan Macnaughtan of Lane Community College.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Dictionaries

Cover Art
Concise Dictionary of Art Terms  Icon
Call Number: Electronic Book

Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists  Icon
Call Number: Electronic Book

Cover Art
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art
Call Number: REF N7740 .C29 1995

Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip