This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Biology: Beyond the Basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology: Beyond the Basics   Tags: biology, science  

Last Updated: May 23, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/biologybeyond Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources for Getting Started

Great resources for research ideas and to get a quick overview of a topic.

Handbooks

Biology Data Book.  REF QH310 .A468B  Classic handbook with basic data that supports biological research.

Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide. REF QH303.6 .D38 Comprehensive, annotated list of important sources in main fields of the biological sciences.

Anatomy

Atlas of Human Anatomy. REF QM25 .N46 The most popular English-language anatomical atlas.

Encyclopedia of the Brain and Brain Disorders. REF QP376 .T87

Gray's Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice. REF QM23.2 .G73 Comprehensive resource which describes the human body;

Oxford Companion to the Body. REF QM7 .O96. Correlates humanistic concepts with normal body structure, functions, and conditions.

Visible Human Project.  A project of the NLM to provide comprehensive 3-dimensional images of a set of male and female specimens. Use the Applications for viewing images and Sources of images and animations links for free examples.

World of Anatomy and Physiology QP 11 W67. Includes articles and illustrations of the anatomical structures of the body and also information about how diseases affect many of the structures and biographies of well known scientists in the field.

Bioethics

Encyclopedia of Bioethics. (5 vol.) REF QH332 .E52

Biographies

American Men and Women of Science. REF Q141 .A474 Biographies of living scientists in the physical and biological fields.

Dictionary of Scientists. Authoritative biographical dictionary covering all areas of science. 

Biology

Dictionary of Biology. Coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology.

Dictionary of Ecology.  Entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines.

Encyclopedia of Biology. REF QH309.2 .R58 Fundamental concepts in biology, ecology, botany, and earth science.

Encyclopedia of Human Biology.  REF QP11 .E53 Overview of current knowledge of human biology; glossary and bibliography for each article.

Facts on File Dictionary of Biology. REF QH302.5 .F38 Definitions of biological terms including those in genetics and molecular biology.

Genetics

Dictionary of Genetics.

Encyclopedia of Genetics. REF QH427 .E53 

Microbiology and Molecular Biology

Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology. REF QR9 .D47

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology REF QR9 .S56

Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology REFQR100 .B58

Encyclopedia of Microbiology. (4 vol.) REF QR9 .E53

Encyclopedia of Virology. QR358 .E53 1999

Facts on File Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology REFQH575 .F33

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. (also available in hard copy REF QP512 .O94) Comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology

Zoology

Dictionary of Zoology.

Encyclopedia of Evolution Ref QH 360.2 .E54

Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia. REF QL7 .G7813 Extensively illustrated zoological classic arranged by type of animal.

Current Protocols?

 

Mason

 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip