This is the "Getting Started" page of the "History: British" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History: British   Tags: history  

Use this subject guide to help you get started with your research in British History. It includes books, research databases, journals, and links to useful websites.
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/britishhistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Atlases

Atlas of the British Empire. REF Atlas DA16 .A881 Essays on selected topics in British history starting in 1500 with accompanying maps.

Historical Maps on File. (2 vol.) REF Atlas G1030 .M37 Over 400 maps; volume 1 contains three sections of maps of Europe; volume 2 has an index.

Routledge Atlas of British History. REF Atlas G1811.S1 G5

 

Biographical

Dictionary of National Biography. (multiple volumes) REF DA28 .D554  Biographical sketches of prominent British and Irish figures.

Who’s Who. REF DA28 .W6 (1988-present; some volumes prior to 1988) Annual biographical dictionary of famous Britons.

Who’s Who in British History. REF DA28 .H58  Biographical dictionary of famous Britons.

 

General

 

Specialized

Cover Art
A Companion to Medieval England: 1066-1485.
Call Number: REF DA175 .S382

Cover Art
Early Peoples of Britain and Ireland : An Encyclopedia - Christopher Snyder
Call Number: REF DA135 .E27

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Victorian World
Call Number: REF DA550 .E53

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World: Britain, Ireland, Europe, and America.
Call Number: REF DA357 .W34

Cover Art
The Kings and Queens of Britain.
Call Number: DA28.1 .C36
Also avaliable online.

Cover Art
Medieval England: An Encyclopedia.
Call Number: REF DA129 .M43

Cover Art
The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend.
Call Number: REF DA152.5 .A7 L87

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Gail Flatness
Contact Info
Reinsch Library Room 145
703-526-6845
gail.flatness@marymount.edu
 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the refererence desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip