This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Find Career and Employment Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The following sources in this guide are good places to begin your research. Visit Marymount’s Center for Career Services located in Rowley Hall and online.
Last Updated: May 7, 2013 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/career Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Center for Career Services

The Center for Career Services, located on the first floor of Rowley Hall (off the courtyard), offers career counseling, job search resources, networking opportunities, a career library, and more!  

Contact the CCS at (703) 284-5960 or career.services@marymount.edu to schedule an appointment. 

 

 

Center for Career Services Workshops

Semester workshops and orientations

SAVE THE DATES...PLAN TO ATTEND. Log on to Jobs4Saints for complete information. Contact the CCS at 703.284.5960. Bookmark us at www.marymount.edu/studentlife/career.

  • Monday, Jan 7, 2013 to Tuesday, May 14, 2013: Spring Career Workshops and Events
    Students are encouraged to attend all of the workshops that they find relevant to them in their current career development phase.
 

Handbooks

Cover Art
Job Search - Robert D. Lock
Call Number: HF5382.7 .L63
ISBN: 0534574211


Cover Art
Ultimate Job Search : Intelligent Strategies to Get the Right Job Fast - Richard H. Beatty
Call Number: HF5382.7 .B446
ISBN: 1593573243
Marymount main stacks and ebook.

 

Getting Started

Start your career at the library! Use the Marymount print and electronic collection to research career fields, employment opportunities for specific majors, company profiles, and directory information. Search the catalog for books and full text articles from the Washington Research Library Consortium.

Undergraduate and graduate students at various stages of the career process and recent graduates will benefit from this guide's selected library materials, job/internship search engines, employment websites, streaming media, blogs and more; although career changers will also find much needed information. This is your one-stop guide to the best career resources available online and on campus. Click on the links and explore!

*Marymount University alumni may obtain an alumni ID card from the Alumni Association and check out up to ten books for three weeks. Alumni may access databases in the library.

 

Finding Books

Search the ALADIN Catalog for books owned by MU or other members of the WRLC. Use subject headings such as: 

     college graduates-employment     

     college graduates-vocational guidance  

     college majors     cover letters      

     employment interviewing     internship programs

     job hunting     resumes

Also try:    

   generation X       career development
   generation Y       baby boom generation

To Search by Subject 

The quickest way to search for a subject is by typing one or more keywords or a person’s name in the search box and clicking on Keyword. For additional results, click on a book that addresses your subject and look at the Subjects assigned to that book. Click on that Subject Heading to view additional titles.

TIPS

1. Enter one or more terms that best describe your topic.

2. Use and, or, not to combine terms, psychology and careers.

3. Use quotation marks to search words as a phrase, “college to career.”

4. Add a search heading to a career field, medicine--vocational guidance.

 

Career Books

Cover Art
Best Career and Education Web Sites: A Quick Guide to Online Job Search - Anne Wolfinger
Call Number: HF5382.75 .U6 .W65
ISBN: 9781593573126
Career exploration, distance learning, job search and applications, electronic resumes, researching employers. Marymount main stacks (5th ed.) and ebook (6th ed.)



 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the library reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Database Resources

To find resources on careers and employment, try these databases:

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    A range of articles on career choice and development. Scholarly, multidisciplinary database.
  • eBooks on EBSCOhost  
      
    Search for electronic books on careers, job hunting, resumes, cover letters, and more. Search by publisher for e-books from JIST Publishing, Career Press, and WetFeet insider guides.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    Use the business tab for news, reports, filings, and company profiles. Use News search with keywords such as employment, interview, or occupation for articles on interview techniques and career advice.
  • ProQuest Research Library  
      
    Search terms such as career development planning, job satisfaction, careers and employment, or careers and management to find articles. Obtain news on a corporation by entering a company name into the search field.
 

Mobile Access for Find Career and Employment Resources

QRCode
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip