This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Religion: Catholic Faith" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion: Catholic Faith  

Use this subject guide to help you get started with your research in Catholicism. It includes background sources, books, research databases, and websites.
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/catholicfaith Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

History

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Catholic History
Call Number: REF BX1406.2 .E53
Covers events that shaped Catholicism in the U.S. from the time of Columbus to the present day.

Cover Art
The Papacy: an encyclopedia
Historical dictionary of the popes and the papacy as an institution.

Cover Art
Butler's Lives of the Saints
Call Number: REF BX4654 .B8
Provides brief biographies of the saints arranged by feast days on the liturgical calendar.

 

Sources

Sources are located on the first floor of Reinsch Library and do not circulate.

Cover Art
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK
Scholarly, comprehensive source on Catholic teaching and a wide variety of related topics. Also available in print edition in the Reference section.

Cover Art
Global Catholicism
Call Number: REF BX946 .F76
A portrait of the Church throughout the world. Includes statistics.

Cover Art
Our Sunday Visitor's Catholic Almanac
Call Number: REF AY81 .R6 N3
Hundreds of facts about virtually every aspect of Catholicism, including a “Year in Review” section

Cover Art
Catechism of the Catholic Church
Call Number: REF BX1959.3 .E5
Basic teachings of the Church on the Creed, Liturgy and Sacraments, Morality, Prayer.

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Liturgy
Call Number: REF BV173 .L26
Concise definitions of everything related to liturgy. Includes illustrations and pronunciation guide.

Cover Art
Ceremonies of the Modern Roman Rite
Call Number: REF BX1971 .E45
Official directives and detailed explanations of every aspect of liturgical celebration

Cover Art
Handbook of Roman Catholic Moral Terms
Call Number: REF BJ1249 .B625 2013
ISBN: 9781626160033

Librarian

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window to the right, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip