Historical Dictionary
Plot Summaries
* Please Note Reference Materials do NOT circulate and must be used within the Reinsch Library.
Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias
A Chaucer Glossary. REF PR1941 .C496 Explanations of words and phrases in Geoffrey Chaucer’s writings; lists the work and line number(s) where a word or phrase is used.
All Things Chaucer: An Encyclopedia of Chaucer’s World. PR1903 .R55 (2 vol.) Alphabetically arranged entries on items mentioned in Chaucer’s work. Includes entries on customs, rituals, and belief systems of the Middle Ages.
Chaucer Name Dictionary: A Guide to Astrological, Biblical, Historical, Literary, and Mythological Names in the Works of Geoffrey Chaucer. REF PR1903 .D4 Description and biographical information of personal names and historical figures in Chaucer’s works, diagrams of the constellations and a glossary of medieval astronomical and astrological terms.
Critical Companion to Chaucer: A Literary Reference to His Life and Work. REF PR1903 .R673
Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases. REF DA129 .C67 Definitions of Old English and Middle English terms. Includes words and terms in English, French, German, and Latin.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature. REF PN669 .R88 Entries arranged alphabetically and covering the most important texts and authors in Europe and Asia during medieval times.
A Glossarial Concordance to the Riverside Chaucer. REF PR1941 .B46 (2 vol.) Alphabetical list of all the forms and words that appear in the Riverside Chaucer. Words with multiple spellings and forms (noun, pronoun, and verb) are under single headings. The Supplementary Volume provides two indexes: Spellings in the Main Concordance and Modern English Equivalents.
Palgrave Literary Dictionary of Chaucer. REF PR1903 .A53 Alphabetical list of scholarly information about the works, life, and times of Chaucer. Topics and issues covered include: Chaucer’s works, major fictional characters, writers who influenced Chaucer, and people or places significant to Chaucer’s works and life.
Yale Companion to Chaucer. REF PR1905 .Y35 Unique in that it presents ten very lengthy critical essays on Chaucer where scholarly authors are able to elaborate on their interpretation of Chaucer.
Canterbury Tales
Chaucer's General Prologue to the Canterbury Tales: An Annotated Bibliography 1900 to 1982. REF PR1905 .E19 Annotated bibliography of books and articles on the General Prologue to the Canterbury Tales.
Chaucer's Knight's Tale: An Annotated Bibliography 1900 to 1985. REF PR1905 .M114 Annotated bibliography of books and articles on The Knight’s Tale.
Author Bio-Bibliographies
Bibliography of Chaucer, 1954-63. REF PR1900 .C899 Bibliographical criticism on Geoffrey Chaucer arranged by subject; including: Influence and Allusions, The Canterbury Tales, and Literary Relations and Sources.
A Bibliography of Chaucer, 1974-1985. REF PR1905 .B163 Bibliographical criticism on Geoffrey Chaucer by subject, full subject and author indexes. Chaucer. REF PR1905 .B346 Bibliographical criticism on Geoffrey Chaucer arranged by subject and title of work.
Chaucer. REF PR1905 .B346 Bibliographical criticism on Geoffrey Chaucer arranged by subject and title of work.
Chaucer: A Bibliographical Introduction. REF PR1905 .L683 Bibliographic information on Chaucer arranged by subject, title, sources, and influences.
Chaucer A to Z: The Essential Reference to His Life and Works. REF PR1903 .R67 Alphabetical entries on Chaucer’s language (Middle English), literary influences, and biographical and historical information on figures and events. Subject specific appendices include Characters and Historical Figures Mentioned or Quoted in Chaucer and Chronology of Chaucer’s Life with Significant Historical and Literary Events.
Chaucer: An Oxford Guide. REF PR1924 .C39 Thirty seven scholarly essays on Chaucer, organized into five broad areas, including literary contexts and historical contexts.
Chaucer and the Late Medieval World. REF PR1933 .S59 B57 Entries on Geoffrey Chaucer, Medieval England, and The Canterbury Tales. Provides a bibliography and a subject index.
Essential Chaucer: An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies. REF PR1905 .A427 Annotated bibliography arranged by subject and title.
Historical Information
A Companion to Medieval England 1066-1485. REF DA175 .S382 Entries of varying lengths arranged alphabetically. Illustrations are grouped together rather than with the individual topic.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. REF D114 .D554 (13 vol. and 1 suppl.) Covers the time span A.D. 500 to 1500; geographical scope limited to Latin West, Slavic World, and Asia Minor. Alphabetically arranged entries with bibliographical information; subject index in Volume 13.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. REF D114 .E53 (2 vol.) Contains historical facts, biographical information, illustrations, maps, and photographs. Bibliographic information at the end of the entry; subject index in Volume 2.
Medieval England: An Encyclopedia. REF DA129 .M43 Covers Old English and Middle English Language and Literature, Music and Liturgy, Art History, and History. Alphabetically arranged entries, maps, illustrations, photographs, bibliographic information, and a subject index.
Contact Me |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask A Librarian
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.
Chat
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.



Loading...
