This is the "Getting Started" page of the "U. S. Congress" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

U. S. Congress   Tags: politics  

This subject guide includes background sources, research databases, and websites.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/congress Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

U.S. House of Representatives Live Proceedings

Provides live video feeds of the U.S. House of Representatives proceedings. Click on a legislative day of interest to watch a video of that days proceedings. Click VIEW WEBSITE to access alternative ways of following daily legislative proceedings.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

How to Find Your Congressperson

Background Sources are located on the first floor of Reinsch Library and do not circulate.

How to Find Your Congressperson

U.S House of Representatives Web Site  Contact information for every Congressperson can be found by selecting a state from the drop down menu, entering a ZIP code, and clicking on the Contact My Representative button.

U.S. Senate Web Site Contact information for every Senator can be found by selecting a state or Senator from the drop down menu. Other interesting biographical and statistical infomation is also available on this site including information regarding the legislative committee process.

MapStats: United States  Congressional Districts profiles can be found by selecting a state from the drop down menu or using the United States map, then clicking on the Congressional Districts link.

 

Voting Records

The U.S. Congress Votes Database  “Deep database of every vote in the United States Congress since the 102nd Congress (1991). Allows you to browse votes in a variety of ways -- both in aggregate and for individual members of Congress.”

Thomas Roll Call Votes  Roll call votes from 1989 to the present.

CQ Almanac. Roll records  records for key votes are recorded in the Series Appendix section of this of this database.

Congressional Roll Call. REF JK1 .C6635 (Annual)  Chronological analysis of votes in the House and Senate.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Gail Flatness
Contact Info
Reinsch Library Room 145
703-526-6845
gail.flatness@marymount.edu
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the refererence desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu

 

Watch Hearings, Debates. Speeches

C-SPAN video library  Includes every C-SPAN program aired since 1987. Indexed and searchable by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, location, and in many cases the full text of closed caption trancriptions. Browse by date, congressional committee, type of event, etc.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip