This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Counseling" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Counseling   Tags: counseling  

Use this subject guide to help you get started with your research in counseling. It includes books, research databases, journals and links to useful websites.
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2013 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/counseling Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Classification Manual

Cover Art
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM IV-TR
Call Number: RC455.2 .C4 D536 (Closed Reserves at the Reinsch Library and Ballston Library Extension)
The classification manual of mental disorders that gives the official nomenclature and definition.

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Cover Art
An A-Z of counselling theory and practice.
Call Number: Reference BF 637.C6 S768

Cover Art
Clinician’s thesaurus
Call Number: Reference RC480.7 .Z83
Manual designed to assist clinicians and researchers to document interviews and write reports.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of applied psychology
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0126574103
Includes information on aging, assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. Provides a clear definition, a brief review of the theoretical basis, and emphasizes major areas of application.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of counseling.
Call Number: Reference BF636.54 .E53

Cover Art
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling - American Counseling Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ballston and Main Reference BF636.54 .A23 2009
ISBN: 9781556202889
Publication Date: 2009-07-01

Cover Art
The Edinburgh international encyclopaedia of psychoanalysis
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0748612653
Contains entries on the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and counseling.

 

Handbooks

Handbooks and companions present comprehensive surveys of theory and research and are useful places to start a research paper. They are arranged thematically and include extensive bibliographies and lists of references.  The titles listed below are representative of many that are available in the Marymount Library.

Cover Art
Cambridge handbook of psychology, health and medicine
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0521605105
Explores the interface of psychology and clinical medicine. Resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Cover Art
Handbook of counseling psychology
Call Number: BF637 .C6 H316

Cover Art
Handbook of multicultural competencies in counseling & psychology
Call Number: BF 637 .C6 H3173

Cover Art
Oxford handbook of counseling psychology
Call Number: BF 636.6 .O94 2012
ISBN: 0195342313

Cover Art
Professional counselor's desk reference
Call Number: BF 636.6 .M37

Cover Art
Sage handbook of counselling & psychotherapy
Call Number: BF637 .C6 H3126

Cover Art
The cambridge handbook of sociocultural psychology - Jaan Valsiner (Editor); Alberto Rosa (Editor)
ISBN: 0521670055
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Provides a comprehensive description and explanation of the development of meaning-making and integrates contributions of socio-cultural specialists from 15 countries worldwide.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Gail Flatness
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
Reinsch Library Room 145
703-526-6845
gail.flatness@marymount.edu
 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip