Plot Summaries
Sources designated with REF in the call number, unless otherwise noted, are located on the first floor of the Reinsch Library and do not circulate.
Critical Survey of Drama. REF PN1625 .C68 (8 vol.) Provides alphabetically arranged entries from the Critical Survey of Drama: English Language Series and Critical Survey of Drama: Foreign Language Series. The essays cover individual dramatists and broad topic areas. Profiles of the dramatists include photographs and drawings.
Critical Survey of Drama: English Language Series. REF PR625 .C934 (6 vol. and suppl.) Biographical data, analysis (plot summary and criticism), and bibliographies for writers of English-language drama from all eras. Volume 6 contains essays on various aspects of drama. Organized by playwright.
Masterplots II: Drama Series. REF PN6112.5 .M37 (4 vol.) Plots, critical evaluations, and bibliographies for major 20th century plays, primarily those written in English.
Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters. REF PN44 .M3 (5 vol.) Entries are arranged by the title of work and each entry includes the author’s name, publication date, genre (novel, novella, drama, poetry, and short fiction), locale, time of action, and plot type. Characters are arranged by order of importance within each entry.
Facts on File Companion to American Drama. REF PS330 .F33 Short entries, arranged alphabetically, primarily on American dramatists and specific plays during the 20th century.
Facts on File Companion to Classical Drama. REF PA3024 .T48 Short entries, arranged alphabetically, focusing on eight Greek and Roman authors, including Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, and Aristophanes. Includes information on characters, social settings, genres, and historical figures.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama. REF PN1625 .M147 (5 vol.) Lengthy entries and bibliographies on issues in international theatre and performance, with survey articles on regional and national drama.
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre. REF PN2220 .B6 Brief entries on topics relating to American theatre, including plays. Includes cross-references.
The Oxford Companion to the Theatre. REF PN2035 .O98 Brief entries on a variety of topics relating to international theatre, except for plays and theatre critics. Includes cross-references.
Oxford Dictionary of Plays. REF PN1625 .P38 Brief commentaries on the 1,000 most significant plays of world theatre. Works are listed in alphabetical order and includes an index of characters and playwrights.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance. REF PN2035 .O94 (2 vol.) Alphabetically arranged entries on a variety of topics relating to theatre. Covers all time periods, starting with the Greek theater to the present.
Critical Excerpts
Contemporary Literary Criticism. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959. Check the annual cumulative index as authors may appear in multiple volumes. Also includes yearbooks.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. Selected full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Topic volumes every fourth volume. Check cumulative indexes as authors may appear in multiple volumes.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Selected full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers who died between 1900 and 1999. Topic volumes every fourth volume. Check cumulative indexes as authors may appear in multiple volumes.
Author Bio-Bibliographies
African American Dramatists An A-to-Z Guide REF PS338 .N4 A69 Biographical information, published works, and bibliographies on African-American dramatists.
Contemporary Authors. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database Biographical data, often including interviews, and bibliographies for world writers from 1900 to the present. Includes writers of public interest from multiple fields, including media. Cross-references and separate cumulative index.
Contemporary Dramatists. Selected full-text available in the data Literature Resource Center; volumes in hard-copy in REF PR737 .C57 Biographical information, published works, and signed critical essays on living English-language stage writers.
Cyclopedia of World Authors. REF PN451 .M36 (5 vol.) Profiles on novelists, short-story writers, playwrights, poets, and screenwriters. Each entry contains biographical information, the author’s primary genre(s), listing of the author’s principal works, and bibliography.
Dictionary of Literary Biography. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; Topical volumes include biographical data and lengthy critical essays on major world authors from all eras. Volumes are indexed individually in the WRLC Libraries Catalog. Check the index as authors may appear in multiple volumes. Also includes yearbooks.
Dramatists. REF PR625 .D763 Biographical information, published works, published bibliographies, and signed critical essays by individual authors.
Female Dramatist: Profiles of Women Playwrights from the Middle Ages to the Contemporary Times. REF PN471 .P37 Biographical information, published works, and bibliographies.
Contact Me |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask A Librarian
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.
Chat
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.


Loading...
