This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Religion: Early and Medieval Christianity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion: Early and Medieval Christianity  

Use this subject guide to help you get started with your research in Early and Medieval Christianity. It includes books, research databases, and links to useful websites.
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2013 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/earlymedchr Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Early Church

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
Call Number: REF BR162.2 .E53
ISBN: 0815316631
Entries cover the period from the life of Jesus to the seventh century, detailing the persons, places, doctrines, practices, liturgy, heresies, and schisms of Christianity.

Encyclopedia of the Early Church
Call Number: REF BR66.5 .D5813
Covers “archaeological, philosophical, linguistic, theological, historical, and geographical topics of the Early Christian Church.”

 

  Medieval Church

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: REF D114 .D554
ISBN: 0684190737
Entries ranging from 500 A.D. to 1500 providing definitions of medieval terms and information on people, events, and concepts of the Middle Ages. Includes bibliography

Dictionary of Medieval Civilization
Call Number: REF CB351 .D131
Entries ranging from the fourth century to 31 December 1500 covering historical events, people, books, monasteries, universities, tribes, cities, and definitions of words related to the Middle Ages.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK
Provides 3,000 articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

 

General

Cover Art
Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK
ISBN: 019861442X
Covers 2,000 years of Christian religion, theology, religious personages, the church and denominations, patristic scholarship, the church calendar and organization, and the Bible

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Christianity
Call Number: REF BR95 .E8913
ISBN: 0195223934
Each entry “describes the Christian faith and community as it exists today in its myriad forms and also in its relation to the core apostolic tradition throughout the 2,000 years of Christian history.”

Cover Art
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF BX841 .N44
ISBN: 0787640042
Provides “information on the doctrine, organization, and history of Christianity over the centuries, it includes information about persons, institutions, and social movements that have affected the Catholic Church from within and without.”

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Popes
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK
ISBN: 0199295816
“Presents biographical accounts in chronological order of all the officially recognized popes from St. Peter to Pope Benedict XVI.

Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of Saints
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK
ISBN: 019860629X
With 1,700 entries provides “concise accounts of the lives, cults, relationship through patronage, and artistic associations of more than a thousand saints.”

Cover Art
Documents of the Christian Church [electronic book] - Henry Bettenson
ISBN: 9780191587689
Publication Date: 1999-01-01


Librarian

Profile Image
Viral Amin
Contact Info
Phone: (703) 284-1534
Send Email
 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip