L&LS Services for Faculty
Copyright at MU
History/Politics Titles Added to MU Library
Here are lists of new books and videos of interest to History and Politics.
Historypin is "a global community collaborating around history," and they have successfully "pinned down" over 281 thousand items to various locations around the world. Over 1,400 institutions and 50 thousand visitors have participated thus far. It's a remarkable experiment in
community mapping of everything from Hurricane Sandy to sharing memories of the Queen's visits to foreign lands. Visitors can click on the Map icon to look around by place, date, or subject and it's a fun way to browse around the world through a kaleidoscope of buildings, memories, experiences, and so on. . [KMG
What was George Washington's life like at Mount Vernon? This frequent question is answered in fine form by this Digital Encyclopedia, compiled by a variety of scholars in collaboration with the Mount Vernon Estate. It is particularly appropriate that there is such a copious compendium of facts on the goings-on at Mt. Vernon, as Washington was enamored of encyclopedias during his life. Drawing on a range of primary sources, this project brings together hundreds of entries divided into over a dozen topics, including Military, Slavery, Food and Drink, and Animals. [KMG]
Located in Little Rock, Arkansas, the William J. Clinton Presidential Library is the official repository for the documents and related materials that narrate the life and times of President Clinton. Visitors to the site will find six separate sections, including Research, Biographies, Museum, and Education.The Research area contains a video gallery, a digital library, and finding
aids for the papers contained within these collections. The video gallery is a great resource, as it contains several dozen important addresses, including the 1993 State of the Union Address and the Transportation Equity Act bill signing in 1998. [KMG]
Immigrant Assimilation into US Prisons, 1900-1930
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) conducts research on a wide range of topics and its work is frequently cited by scholars around the world. This intriguing piece was authored by Carolyn M. Moehling and Anne Morrison Piehl and released in May 2013. The 39-page paper looks into the statistical patterns behind immigrant assimilation into US prisons from
1900-1930 by drawing on newly released data. Some of the initial findings from this work note that immigrants "rapidly assimilated to native incarceration patterns." The introduction offers a bit of research literature overview which is quite helpful. Also, the report contains helpful figures, along with information on the authors' methodology and statistical analysis. [KMG]
Documenting the American South: Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
The Documenting the American South collections from the University of North Carolina are a veritable cornucopia of material about the vast cultural and historical legacy of this complex region. The digitization project was madepossible by a Library Services and Technology Act grant distributed through the State Library of North Carolina. Visitors can delve into the colonial
and state records of North Carolina by looking over 26 volumes of material. These volumes were originally published between 1886 and 1907 and feature a four-volume master index. Visitors can search the entire archive via the search engine or click on the small icons to open documents like "A New Map of Carolina" from 1690 or the engraving titled "Governor Tyron and the Regulators". Also, users can click on the Browse CSR tab to look around by volume, date, or creator type. [KMG]
In the 21st century, photographer Matthew Brady (ca. 1822 - 1896) is widely remembered as a chronicler of the Civil War, but by the time the War began in 1860, Brady and his studio were already well-established as portrait photographers. This show, from the National Portrait Gallery, presents 21 of Brady's portraits of Union Generals.. [DS]
The Virginia Memory initiative is part of the online presence of the Library of Virginia and it represents a magnificent effort to bring together thousands of documents that tell the story of this very unique place. The sections of the site include Digital Collections, Reading Rooms,
Exhibitions, and the Online Classroom. First-time visitors may wish to start with the This Day in Virginia History section. There are over two dozen past exhibits to look over on the site as well. The Digital Collections area is quite a remarkable one, featuring over 50 exhibits, including the 1939 World's Fair Photograph Collection, Revolutionary War Virginia State Pensions, and the
tremendous Richmond Esthetic Survey/Historic Building Survey.
The University of Missouri Digital Library has a range of digital collections covering much of the fine Show Me State, along with other regions of the United States and the globe. This particular collection brings together key documents that tell the story of British religious, legal, and political history from the 1600s to the 1800s. Visitors can browse at their leisure or perform complex searches across the entirecollection. It contains over 20,000 items that
were purchased by the university beginning in 1943.
The U.S. Army Center of Military History (CMH) is a directorate within the office of the administrative Assistant to the Secretary of the Army. It provides a vast range of services designed to support the historical research efforts of different sections and organizations within the Army. [KMG]
The Open Yale Courses website provides entry to a wealth of materials from selected Yale College courses to anyone with a penchant for learning. The courses here span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences. Interested parties can click on over to the Courses area. Within each course, visitors
can find the syllabus, suggested reading, assignments, and in some cases,
tests and quizzes. [KMG]
Are you a pollster? Would you like to be one? PollCode makes all of this quite simple. With this handy application, visitors can type in a poll question and up to 30 possible answers. Visitors can customize the poll with their own colors, font, and settings. After visitors have completed
their poll, they can use the HTML code provided here to share their poll with others via social media networks and the like. This version of Poll Code is compatible with all operating systems. [KMG]
Who's out there in the world of social media? It can be hard to sort out what topics are of the utmost importance without the right tools. WhoTalking allows visitors to type in a topic to see what's trending on Twitter, Facebook, and so on. The novel thing here is that visitors can
type in the topic in any language to see the latest results. After entering a word or phrase, visitors can look over the most recent 25 results from ten different social media networks. This application is compatible with all operating systems.
Created by Tom Costa on behalf of the University of Virginia, the Geography of Slavery in Virginia presents full transcriptions and images of over 4,000 runaway and captured ads for slaves and servants placed in Virginia newspapers from 1736 to 1790. Additionally, the project offers a number of documents related to slaves, servants, and slaveholders, including court records, other newspapers notices, slaveholder correspondence, and assorted literature about slavery and indentured servitude. Photos of advertisements for escaped slaves, often situated beside other ads describing missing livestock, offer a chilling reminder of a time when humans were considered property. Users of the site can browse the advertisements by month or by location, or use the full-text search. The Essays area contains a rather fine piece which places Virginia slavery into the context of the larger colonial America and Atlantic picture. [KMG]
Robert E. Lee Papers
Housed at the Special Collections Department of the James Graham Leyburn Library at Washington and Lee University, the Robert E. Lee Papers document several key aspects of the military leader's life. Along with collections at the Library of Congress and the Virginia Historical Society, this offering represents the third key archive of personal letters from Lee to a host of political and military figures in 19th century America. [KMG]
An Historical Exploration of Father Charles E. Coughlin's Influence
The University of Detroit-Mercy has created this digital exploration of Father Charles E. Coughlin in order to scholastically examine his role in influencing the hearts and minds of Americans from the late 1920s through World War II. In the 1930s, Coughlin was well known for his support of FDR and as a social commentator concerned with predatory capitalism. Materials include a detailed bibliography, lesson plans, and a range of primary materials, such as transcripts of his radio broadcasts and images from his newspaper, “Social Justice.” [KMG]
RappidReddit allows visitors to browse top Reddit posts more rapidly, and is quite useful for those who use the site on a regular basis. The extension filters out posts that users have already seen and users can customize it to only display posts of specific interest. This version is compatible with all computers running Google Chrome. [KMG]
Logging in from Off-Campus
When you are off-campus, you will need to login to have access to the databases and full-text content.
1. You will need to put in your last name.
2. In the University ID box, put in the alpha-numeric code you use to login to Marynet and Blackboard. It is made up of your 3 initials (use zero if you have no middle initial) and the last 5 numbers of your Marymount ID.For example: m0m34567
or your Library Barcode , the 14-digit number under the barcode on the back of your MU BlueCard. For example: 22883123456701
3. Finally, select Marymount from the drop down menu next to Instiitution.
You can refer your students to any of our Guides or link to them on your BlackBoard page. I am happy to create a Guide tailored to the needs of your students and class assignments.
- RefWorks Classic
- Find Court Cases
- Find Curriculum Materials
- Find Dissertations
- Use Write-N-Cite III (For Windows XP, Vista, 7 and Word 2003, 2007, 2010)
- Find Articles Using Find it
- History: American
- History: Ancient
- History: British
- Primary Sources in History
- American Government and Politics
- U. S. Congress
- Political Theory/Thought
- Public Policy
- State and Local Politics
- History: American Civil War and Reconstruction
- History: World
- NEW 2013 Finding Materials in the Library