This is the "Welcome" page of the "Faculty: Psychology and Counseling" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty: Psychology and Counseling   Tags: faculty  

Last Updated: Jan 22, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/facultypsychcounsel Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Titles Added to the MU Library

Here are lists of new books and videos of interest to Psychology and Counseling.  

 

Logging in from Off-Campus

When you are off-campus, you will need to login to have access to the databases and full-text content.

1. You will need to put in your last name.

2. In the  University ID box, put in the alpha-numeric code you use to login to Marynet and Blackboard. It is made up of your 3 initials (use zero if you have no middle initial) and the last 5 numbers of your Marymount ID.For example: m0m34567

or your Library Barcode , the 14-digit number under the barcode on the back of your MU BlueCard.  For example: 22883123456701

3.  Finally, select Marymount from the drop down menu next to Instiitution.

 

News from the Library

1.  Changes to "ALADIN".  
 
Your eyes are not deceiving you, the member libraries of the WRLC are doing away with the ALADIN brand. For example what used to be called myALADIN is now myLibrary.  Along with  the removal of ALADIN, there have been changes made to the look and feel of the catalog search, log in and request pages to give them a more modern, fresher look.  The basic functionality of  how all this works has not changed.  It is all pretty cosmetic. But let me know if you run into any problems.
 
2. New Discovery Tool. 

MU, as well as the other libraries in the WRLC, are rolling out a new research "discovery" system that we are calling MUSummon.  
 
You will see a link to it on the Library's home page. It is a search system that integrates the catalog with much, but not all, of our electronic full text journals for a more Google-like experience.  This of course can be good and bad.  It is useful when you have a very precise search topic and may need to search a several databases at once, but it is not very useful if you have a big, broad topic.  For example a search on bipolar brings back over 600,000 items. We are still getting the hang of it ourselves. Give it a try and see what you think.
 
3. University Archives.

Is up and running and  open every day in its new space on the Ground Floor of the Library.  You might want to stop by and meet Sarah Holland the Archivist.   Here is a link to a project she worked on for homecoming.  http://muir.wrlc.org/handle/10994/115 
 
Here are some interesting Websites and tools you might not have run across. 
Open Yale Courses
http://oyc.yale.edu/

The Open Yale Courses website provides entry to a wealth of materials from selected Yale College courses to anyone with a penchant for learning. The courses here span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences. Interested parties can click on over to the Courses area. C
 
Poll Code
http://pollcode.com/

Are you a pollster? Would you like to be one? PollCode makes all of this quite simple. With this handy application, visitors can type in a poll question and up to 30 possible answers. Visitors can customize the poll with their own colors, font, and settings. After visitors have completed
their poll, they can use the HTML code provided here to share their poll with others via social media networks and the like. This version of Poll Code is compatible with all operating systems. [KMG]
 

WhoTalking
http://whotalking.com/

Who's out there in the world of social media? It can be hard to sort out what topics are of the utmost importance without the right tools. WhoTalking allows visitors to type in a topic to see what's trending on Twitter, Facebook, and so on. The novel thing here is that visitors can
type in the topic in any language to see the latest results. After entering a word or phrase, visitors can look over the most recent 25 results from ten different social media networks. This application is compatible with all operating systems. 
 
 Resources for Teaching Social Psychology
http://jfmueller.faculty.noctrl.edu/crow/

This website was created by Professor Jon Mueller of North Central College in order to help fellow professors teach a range of social psychology topics to their students. The resources here are divided into 10 areas, including Online Lectures, Examples of Concepts, and Class Assignments. The site is updated frequently, and visitors can click through each of these
sections to get a sense of the offerings. The Topics Resources area contains helpful links and activities related to conformity, aggression, and group influence. Moving on, the site also includes links to other teaching psychology sites, including Science of Relationships and the
GoCognitive project, which offers an online center for teaching in cognitive psychology and neuroscience.


Ethics CORE
http://nationalethicscenter.org/

The Ethics CORE Digital Library, funded by the National Science Foundation, “brings together information on best practices in research, ethics instruction and responding to ethical problems that arise in research and professional life." The Resources by Discipline area is a great place to start. Here you will find materials related to the biological sciences, business, computer & information science, along with 14 additional disciplines. The Current News area is a great place to learn about the latest updates from the field. Of note, these pieces can easily be used in the classroom or shared with colleagues. The dynamism of the site can be found at the Interact with Ethics CORE area. Active learning exercises can be found here, along with instructional materials and visitors’ own lessons learned. [KMG]

Frontline: Life and Death in Assisted Living
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/life-and-death-in-assisted-living/

What can one expect in an assisted living facility? It can be hard to evaluate their seemingly bucolic surroundings based solely on their websites and promotional literature. The team at Frontline teamed up with Pro Publica to craft this well-done documentary on the assisted living
industry in the United States. Visitors can watch the entire 53 minute documentary online or explore the site’s wealth of extra features. Users shouldn't miss the interviews with two of the nation's largest assisted living companies or the very compelling live chat transcript with the
filmmakers, titled Is Assisted Living Safe for Your Parents? Journalists, in particular, will appreciate the section How “Life and Death in Assisted Living” Was Reported. [KMG]--

Rappid Reddit
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/rapidreddit/gkankeeflokehbfdkoooobelngkplpod?hl=en

RappidReddit allows visitors to browse top Reddit posts more rapidly, and is quite useful for those who use the site on a regular basis. The extension filters out posts that users have already seen and users can customize it to only display posts of specific interest. This version is compatible with all computers running Google Chrome. [KMG]

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Gail Flatness
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
Reinsch Library Room 145
703-526-6845
Send Email

LibGuides

You can refer your students to any of our Guides or link to them on your BlackBoard page.  I am happy to create a Guide tailored to the needs of your students and class assignments.  

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip