Just a reminder ...
When searching historical newspapers remember to
- broaden dates of search to reflect time it took to get news events to print
- limit search to articles or type of article if you want to limit advertising results
- think of keywords in terms of how the news of that historical time would have treated it.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Online
The ProQuest Historical Newspapers database provides online access to the historical archives of the New York Times and the Washington Post. Individual articles, ads, etc. can be displayed as well as the context of an entire page of the newspaper. As past years are archived, the years covered are expanded.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times -- Covers years from 1851-2008
Historical Newspapers: Washington Post -- Covers years from 1877-1995
Each archived collection of the New York Times (Historical) or the Washington Post (Historical) can be searched independently or through a combined search process. A combined search process is completed by using the CHANGE in blue top header and scrolling to select both ProQuest historical newspapers. However, these historical newspaper databases cannot be combined with other non-historical databases.
NOTE: Selecting these databases will default to the basic search screen. Limits to a basic search are done using features to the right of the results list of a search. Another option is to set the search limits concurrent with the search by using the advanced search option.

Reference Publications |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask A Librarian
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.
Chat
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.


Loading...
