This is the "Background Sources" page of the "HRM335 Human Resource Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Use this guide to help you get started with your research in human resource management. It includes information on finding books, articles, journals and some websites.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2015 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/humanresource Print Guide RSS Updates

Background Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books that guide you to additional HRM information

Sources designated with REF in the call number, unless otherwise noted, are located on the first floor of the Reinsch Library and do not circulate.

Cover Art
The ASTD Reference Guide to Professional Human Resource Development Roles and Competencies
Call Number: REF HF5549.5 .T7 .R848
ASTD, the American Society for Training and Development, is the largest association for human resource development professionals in the United States.

Cover Art
ERISA: The Law and the Code
Call Number: REF KF3512 .A315 .B84
Provides text of ERISA (Employee Retirement Income Security Act) plus applicable Internal Revenue Code excerpts.

Cover Art
Info-Line: Practical Guidelines for Training and Development Professionals.
Call Number: REF HF5549.5 .T7 .I44
Each month a new brochure is published by ASTD Press on a topic that is pertinent and of interest to trainers and human resource practitioners.

Cover Art
Mandated Benefits Compliance Guide
Call Number: REF KF3509 .Z9 .M36
“Provides HR managers and benefits professionals with comprehensive guidance for dealing with the growing number of federal and state regulations governing employee benefits.”

 

Handbooks and Yearbooks

Cover Art
COBRA Handbook
Call Number: REF KF3515.3 .C62
Provides answers to COBRA compliance questions by offering solutions that address the rules outlined by the regulation.

Cover Art
The Employee Recruitment and Retention Handbook
Call Number: REF HF5549.5 .R44 .A748
Handbook provides comprehensive, practical advice to employers to get and retain people they need.

Cover Art
The Employer's Legal Handbook
Call Number: KF3455 .S737
Contains precise information on different legal aspects of human resource management.

Cover Art
Human Resources Management and Development Handbook
Call Number: REF HF5549.5 .M3 .H85
Detailed explanations of all aspects of human resources management.

Cover Art
How to Write a Training Manual
Call Number: REF HF5549.5 .T7 .D38
Step by step guide on how to prepare documentation using format designed to clarify content, timing, deliver, pace and style set that will set practical guidelines for trainers and training managers seeking to improve performance.

Cover Art
Human Resources Yearbook
Call Number: REF HF5549.2 .U5 .H85
Thorough update of HR issues, trends, legislation, current court cases, and a variety of items of current interest to human resource professionals.

Cover Art
The Praeger Handbook of Human Resource Management
Call Number: REF HF5549 .P73
Excellent resource for basic human resource management information.

 

Dictionaries, Glossaries, and Encyclopedias for HRM Information

Cover Art
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Human Resource Management.
Call Number: REF HD30.15 .B455 v.5
Comprehensive compilation of the important topics and terms in human resource management grounded in basic and applied research.

Cover Art
Deskbook Encyclopedia of Employment Law
Call Number: REF KF3314 .D47
Takes cases presented before state and federal courts and explains how the court decisions impact employment law.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Human Resource Management
Call Number: Electronic Book

Cover Art
Dictionary of Occupational Titles
Call Number: REF HB2595 .D53
Provides an updated picture of the occupations for which America’s workforce must be prepared. It details the tasks to be performed and the levels of education to be achieved for different jobs. See also O*NET Resource Center, a source of occupational information.

Cover Art
The Human Resources Glossary: The Complete Desk Reference for HR Executives, Managers, and Practitioners.
Call Number: REF HF5549 .A23 .T73
Brief definitions of terminology unique to the human resources field.

Cover Art
State by State Guide to Human Resources Law
Call Number: Electronic book
Includes comparison tables listing the law in each state, trends and controversies, fair employment practices, and more.

Related Guides

 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the refererence desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu

 

Chat

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip