This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Interior Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Interior Design   Tags: architecture, design, interior_design  

Last Updated: Aug 21, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/intdesign Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Handbooks

Color, Space, and Style: All the Details Interior Designers Need to Know
NK2115 .G75 2007
A handy, portable sourcebook for all the details of the interior design trade.

Interior Graphic Standards
REF TH2031 .M34 2011
Comprehensive source of design data and project management information for all aspects of commercial interiors practice.

Beginnings of Interior Environments
NK2115 .A59 2014
A practical approach to introductory interior design.

 

Professional Practice

Interior Design Sourcebook.
REF NK1705 .L49
Guide to resources on the history and practice of interior design.

Interior Design Reference Manual: A Guide to the NCIDQ Exam.
REF NK2116.5 .B35
Chapters are organized according to the exam specifications and sample questions are provided at the end of each chapter. Reflects the current IBC requirements.

The Interior Design Business Handbook: A Complete Guide to Profitability
NK2002 .K57 2013
Electronic Book

 

Designers and Architects

Contemporary Designers.
REF NK1166 .C761
Gives background, work, and philosophy of important designers, primarily living designers. Indexes by nationality and design field.

Who’s Who in Interior Design.
REF NK 2004.2 .W48
Brief, but concise, biographical information on prominent national and international interior designers.

 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries


Cover Art
A Dictionary of Modern Design
Call Number: Electronic Book
Information on names and movements from the past 150 years of all areas of design, including ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design, interiors, and fashion.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Furniture
Call Number: REF NK2205 .D53 2014

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Furnishing Textiles, Floorcoverings and Home Furnishing Practices, 1200-1950
Call Number: REF NK1710 .E39 2007

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Call Number: REF NK1165 .E48

Cover Art
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Interior Design
Call Number: REF NK1165.P4

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Architecture
Call Number: Electronic Book

 

Codes and Standards

Building codes and standards are available in print and electronically. Some are freely available online; others are available through the library.

Some examples of standards that are freely available online are:

2009 Virginia Construction Code cover image

2009 Virginia Construction Code

This is an example of a construction code freely available from the International Code Council (ICC). A variety of other codes and standards are also freely available from the ICC, including FEMA, HUD, and CPSC.

2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design

This standard is freely available from the U.S. Dept. of Justice Civil Division. The DOJ is responsible for ADA enforcement and certification.

Guide to the 2013 California Green Building Standards Code Residential

Guide to the 2013 California Green Building Standards Code Residential

Local jurisdiction codes can often be found on state and county websites.

The Time-Saver Standards are a useful reference for design and planning. Some of the Time-Saver Standards books available from the library are:

Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning.
REF NK2110 .T48 2001

Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design: Technical Data for Professional Practice.
REF TH151 .T55 2005 Electronic Book

The International Building Code publications are also available in the Reference section at the library:

International Building Code. REF K3538 .A15 I5 Electronic Book

International Energy Conservation Code. REF K3538 .I5835

International Fire Code. REF K3674 .I58

International Mechanical Code. REF K3538 .I5846

International Plumbing Code. REF K3542 .I58

International Residential Code. REF K3538 .I586

Fire Resistance Directory. REF TH1061 .F577 (3 vol.)

National Electrical Code. REF KF5704 .N38

NFPA 101: Life Safety Code. REF TH9445 .P8 L54

Librarian

Profile Image
Tansy Matthews
Contact Info
(703) 908-7665
Send Email
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip