Classical Philosophy
Plot Summaries
Sources designated with REF in the call number, unless otherwise noted, are located on the first floor of the Reinsch Library and do not circulate.
Masterplots: 1,801 Plot Stories and Critical Evaluations of the World's Finest Literature. REF PN44 .M33 (12 vol.) Plots, critical evaluations, and bibliographies for major literary works, primarily British and American. See additional Masterplots series on American fiction, African American literature, women's literature, etc. and the cumulative index Magill Index to Masterplots, 1963-1993: Cumulative Indexes (REF PN44 .M335)
Classical Literature
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. REF PA3002 .A541 (2 vol.) Lengthy entries, including biographical and critical information; arranged chronologically.
Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Literature. REF PA31 .F293 Concise entries on works, authors, characters, places, literary terms; longer entries on authors and works; summaries of major works.
Facts on File Companion to Classical Drama. REF PA3024 .T48 Short entries on the eight major classical playwrights, their surviving plays, and information on major characters from the tragedies. Entries on the plays include a plot summary, commentary, and bibliographical references.
Fifty Key Classical Authors. REF PA3002.Z5 S53 A guide to Greek and Roman authors. Authors are listed alphabetically under each time period.
Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000: A Biographical Dictionary. REF PA31 .G762 Bibliographic information of Greek and Latin authors and a chronological list of authors by century.
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. REF PA31 .O98 Comprehensive scholarly dictionary with short entries on works, authors, characters, places, terms and historical figures, including entries on minor characters and figures; longer entries on major works and authors.
Classical Work, General
Brill’s New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. REF DE5 .N4813 Entries on ancient Greece and Rome, including biographical and historical information, arranged alphabetically. Includes illustrations and maps.
Classical Myths and Legends in the Middle Ages and Renaissance: A Dictionary of Allegorical Meanings. REF PN669 .B78
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World. REF DE5 .O945
Oxford Reference Online- Classics Provides electronic access to a variety of ancient civilization books published by Oxford University Press. .
Historical Information
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece. REF DF16 .E52 An A-to-Z encyclopedia with entries on the political, cultural, and social life of the people and places, ideas, periods, and events that define Ancient Greece.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. REF CB311 .E54 (3 vol.) Coverage on the ancient Greek and Roman civilizations; short entries on culture, traditions, and battles; covers the times period from prehistory through 700 C.E.
Oxford Classical Dictionary. REF DE5 .O9 Covers all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization; short entries interspersed with longer articles on key subjects.
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. REF DE5 .O92 A less scholarly volume, containing essential material reproduced from The Oxford Classical Dictionary, with additional illustrations.
Who’s Who in the Classical World. REF DE7 .H39 Entries on classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy.
Who’s Who in the Greek World. REF DE7 .H39 Entries on literary and historical figures from the Greek world and includes a glossary and chronology of the Greek times.
Who’s Who in the Roman World. REF DG203 .H39 Entries on literary and historical figures from the Roman world and includes a glossary and chronology of the Roman times.
Contact Me |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask A Librarian
If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu.
Chat
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.


Loading...
