This is the "Background Information" page of the "ECO332 Money and Banking" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ECO332 Money and Banking   Tags: banking, business, business ethics, courses, eco332, economics, finance, investments, management, money  

Library specific information for ECO332
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/money Print Guide RSS Updates

Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Historical Information

Banking and Finance to 1913. REF HG2461 .B33 Banking and Finance 1913-1989. REF HG2481 .B325 Arranged alphabetically, these books contain extensive biographical information on key figures in American finance as well as entries related to American banking history.

Financial History of the United States. (3 vol.) REF HG181 .M297  Electronic Book  Comprehensive financial history of the United States from 1492 through 2001; arranged chronologically.

History of the Federal Reserve. REF HG2563 .M383 Arranged chronologically, except for Chapter 1, and covering the period from 1913-1951, this book is both a history of the Federal Reserve and an analysis of its role in American history.

For additional information see the Banking - Credo Reference Topic entry in the Credo Reference database.

 

Financial Information, Handbooks, Statistics

Strauss’s Handbook of Business Information: A Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers. REF Z7164.C81 S7796 (Also Ballston REF HF1010 .M67) Comprehensive resource organized into two main divisions. Part I discuss business information according to various formats, such as directories, looseleaf services, statistics, etc. Part II cover specific business topics, including stocks, bonds, and investments.

Stocks, Bonds, Bills, & Inflation Yearbook. REF HG4501 .S7949 (Annual) Annual compilation of data on the U.S. capital markets from 1926 to present; contains graphs and tables with accompanying text.

Thorndike Encyclopedia of Banking and Financial Tables. REF HG1626 .T493 (Annual) Each yearbook is devoted to a single finance topic and includes tables and schedules.

Electronic Journals

If you have the names of journals you would like to find, search e-Journals at Marymount and the Catalog.

Some banking journals available at Marymount are:

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

American Banker Online Glossary  Banker's Glossary A-Z.

Dictionary of Banking Terms. REF HG151 .F57

Dictionary of Finance and Banking. REF HG151 .D54  Electronic Book  International vocabulary used in banking, money markets, foreign exchanges, public and government finance, and private investment and borrowing, and more.

Encyclopedia of Money. REF HG216 .A43  Electronic Book Comprehensive introductory resource on all aspects of money, including many historical and international topics.

Federal Reserve System: An Encyclopedia. REF HG2563 .H235  Electronic Book  Provides insight into the working of the entire Federal Reserve System. See the Internet Resource section of this Getting Started Guide for individual Federal Reserve Banks’ URLs.

Fitzroy Dearborn Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance. REF HG151 .F58 Entries of varying lengths on a multitude of topics dealing with the banking and financial industries.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance. (3 vol.) REF HG151 .N532 Designed for academics and practitioners, this dictionary provides a comprehensive analysis of contemporary theory with fast-evolving global monetary and financial framework.

St. James Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance. REF HG151 .M966 Almost 4,200 entries of varying lengths arranged alphabetically. Longer essays feature information such as historical background, analysis of trends, and statistical data.

 

Types of Depository Institutions

National Banks

National banks are large commercial banks and members of the Federal Reserve system. These types of banks are supervised by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

Examples of National Banks include but are not limited to:

       Bank of America

       Wells Fargo

       Citi N.A.

        PNC

        Capitol One

        TD Bank

Thrift Institutions

         Savings and Loan Associations: Initially called Building and Loan Associations, they concentrate on providing mortgages.

         Federal Home Loan Bank System  www.fhlbanks.com  Ensures that Savings and Loan Associations are capitalized adequately.

Credit Unions

A credit union is a non-profit cooperative providing services only to its members.

        National Credit Union Administration www.ncua.gov  NCUA also sponsors this website: MyCreditUnion.gov

Related Guides

 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the refererence desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip