This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

Use this subject guide to help you get started with your research in Philosophy. It includes books, research databases, journals, and links to useful websites.
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/philosophy Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window to the right, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 

 

Reference Resources

The reference resources listed below are available either electronically or in print (or both).  Each title is linked to its proper library catalog record, which provides further details and electronic access when available.  

Cover Art
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Call Number: REF B41 .C35
Short, concise entries on philosophers, terms and schools of thought.

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Call Number: B41 .B53 2008 Electronic Book

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Call Number: Electronic Book
Short entries on philosophers, terms, schools of thought; longer entries on major philosophers and key concepts

Cover Art
World Philosophers and Their Works
Call Number: REF B104 .W67
Entries on over 200 of the world’s major philosophers and overviews of their major works

Cover Art
Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers
Call Number: Electronic Book
Detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: REF B51 .E53
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering all aspects of philosophy, many of which relate to political thought

Cover Art
Masterpieces of World Philosophy
Call Number: REF B75 .M423
Detailed overviews of 82 major works of philosophy, each with a suggested reading guide

Librarian

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip