Summaries
Sources designated with REF in the call number, unless otherwise noted, are located on the first floor of the Reinsch Library and do not circulate.
Critical Survey of Poetry. (8 vol.) REF PN1021 .C7 Biographical data, analysis (plot summary and criticism), and bibliographies for poets of the English-language tradition from all eras. Volumes 1 through 7 are organized by poet, and volume 8 contains essays on poetry around the world, research tools, and criticism and theory.
Masterplots II: Poetry Series. (8 vol.) REF PN1110.5 .M37 Plots and critical evaluations of primarily English-language poems from all eras. Organized by poem title.
Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of American Poetry The Nineteenth Century. REF PS316 .E63 Critical essays on poets of the 19th century.
Encyclopedia of American Poetry The Twentieth Century. REF PS323.5 .E53 Lengthy critical essays with bibliography.
Facts on File Companion to 20th Century American Poetry. REF PS323.5 .F33 Brief entries on poets, poems, and other topics related to American poetry. Each entry includes a bibliography.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Poets and Poetry. REF PS303 .G74 (5 vol.) A five-volume set with nine hundred alphabetically arranged entries on poets and movements. Includes entries on pre-20th century and 20th- and 21st-century poets and movements. Profiles of poets include biographical information and selected primary and secondary sources.
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. REF PN1021 .E95 Comprehensive coverage of issues related to the history, technique and criticism of international poetry. Lengthy entries with bibliographies.
The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English. REF PR601 .O9 Brief entries focusing on poets living in the 20th century; additional entries on literary movements and periodicals.
Poetry Dictionary. REF PN1021 .D78 Brief entries, often including examples, of poetic terms, genres, movements, etc.
Critical Excerpts
Contemporary Literary Criticism. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959. Check the annual cumulative index as authors may appear in multiple volumes. Also includes yearbooks.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. Selected full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Topic volumes every fourth volume. Check cumulative indexes as authors may appear in multiple volumes.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Selected full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers who died between 1900 and 1999. Topic volumes every fourth volume. Check cumulative indexes as authors may appear in multiple volumes.
Author Bio-Bibliographies
Contemporary Authors. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database Biographical data, often including interviews, and bibliographies for world writers from 1900 to the present. Includes writers of public interest from multiple fields, including media. Cross-references and separate cumulative index.
Contemporary Poets. REF PR603 .C6 Biographical information, published works, and short essays on living poets writing in English.
Contemporary Women Poets. REF PS151 .C67 Biographical information, published works, and short essays on women poets.
Cyclopedia of World Authors. (5 vol.) REF PN451 .M36 Profiles on novelists, short-story writers, playwrights, poets, and screenwriters. Each entry contains biographical information, the author’s primary genre(s), listing of the author’s principal works, and bibliography.
Dictionary of Literary Biography. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; Topical volumes include biographical data and lengthy critical essays on major world authors from all eras. Volumes are indexed individually in the WRLC Libraries Catalog. See series on poetry from specific countries and eras.
Contact Me |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask A Librarian
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.
Chat
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.


Loading...
