LibGuides: Finding Court Cases: Getting Started

Supreme Court Cases

The Oyez Project
The Chicago-Kent College of Law Oyez Project provides a multimedia archive, including audio records, of the United States Supreme Court. The website allows you to search by date, justice, and topic.

Current Acts- Uniform Law Commission
The Uniform Law Commission (ULC, also known as the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws), established in 1892, provides states with non-partisan, well-conceived and well-drafted legislation that brings clarity and stability to critical areas of state statutory law.
Uniform Commercial Code
The Legal Information Institute at Cornell University maintains an open access guide to uniform commercial codes that are widely adapted by most states.
The Foundation of International Human Rights Law
The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights develop laws related to the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The Foundation addresses current legal concerns such as racial discrimination, torture, enforced disappearances, disabilities, and the rights of women, children, migrants, minorities, and indigenous peoples.

Virginia's Court System
Links to all Virginia courts, which include calendars, dockets and opinions.
Code of Virginia
Compilation of the laws of Virginia.
The Virginia Assembly Legislative Information System
Contains information on the upcoming legislative session.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Offers federal and state statutes and case law, government resources, international law, treaties, scholarly journals, nursing policy, news and curated collections on historical events and current topics. The database also provides access to exact facsimiles of original documents.

HeinOnline Fastcase
Accessed through the HeinOnline database, Fastcase provides full text access to federal and state level legal cases.
more...less...
https://proxymu.wrlc.org/login?url=https://heinonline.org/HOL//Index?collection=fastcasefull
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: U.S. States and Territories
The Guide to Law Online is a detailed collection of links to free online legal materials organized by jurisdiction. Each state or territory guide includes these sections: Introduction, Constitution, Executive Branch, Judicial Branch, Legislative Branch, Legal Guides, General Sources.

Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (LII)
The Legal Information Institute provides links to federal, state and international legal resources, including a dictionary of terms.
Legal Research: A Guide to Case Law
From the Library of Congress, use this guide to find sources for federal and state case law. Guides cover key topics as well as federal and state-by-state information.
National Center for State Courts
The National Center for State Courts maintains a state-by-state listing of court dockets.