This is the "Home" page of the "Use APA PsycNET" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Use APA PsycNET  

Last Updated: Sep 16, 2013 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/psycNET Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

APA PsycNET

APA PsycNET is the most comprehensive index to published psychological literature.  It provides citations to article, chapters in books, books, dissertations as well as links to the fulltext of many of items.

You can use the link above or go to the L&LS Home page  and click on Databases.  On the Find Database screen, you can search by Subject (Social Sciences--Psychology) or by Title (APA PsycNET).  

 

 

Parts of PsycNET

PsycBOOKS—choose this database to find full-text books. Here you will find books published by APA, classic books from the 19th and 20th centuries, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology. Searching this database allows you to find chapters from a variety of books.

 

PsycINFO--contains citations and abstracts from a wide range of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It includes journals, books, reviews, and dissertations, most are peer-reviewed.

 PsycARTICLES—select this database to find full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. Here you can find full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. This database currently covers 71 journals, many from the first volume published.

 

PsycCRITIQUES—use this database to find full-text reviews of books and films in psychology. Reviews can be an invaluable time-saving resource for instructors or other professionals. For example, when selecting books or films for classroom instruction, professors or librarians may want to read reviews in PsycCRITIQUES to narrow their selection rather than reviewing a number of books or films.

PsycEXTRA—use this gray literature database to find credible professional material disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals. Here you will find resources such as conference papers, consumer brochures, and government reports published by organizations, societies, and government agencies.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Gail Flatness
Contact Info
Reinsch Library Room 145
703-526-6845
gail.flatness@marymount.edu
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip