This is the "Getting Started" page of the "School Counseling" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

School Counseling   Tags: counseling, education  

Use this subject guide to help you get started with your research in school counseling. It includes books, research databases, journals and links to useful websites.
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2014 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/schoolcounseling Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Counseling

Cover Art
An A-Z of counselling theory and practice. REF BF 637.C6 S768
Call Number: Reference BF 637.C6 S768

Cover Art
ACA encyclopedia of counseling
Call Number: Reference BF 636.54 .A23

Cover Art
Clinician’s thesaurus
Call Number: Reference RC480.7 .Z83

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of counseling. REF BF636.54 .E53
Call Number: Reference BF636.54 .E53

 

Websites

American School Counselor Association
Links to documents important to counselors and to general information on school counseling issues for parents and the public.

National Association of School Psychologists 
Provides information about the NASP and links to many other useful sites.

School Psychology Resources Online 
Links to sites on specific psychological conditions, disorders, disabilities, and other topics.

 

School Counseling

Cover Art
The ASCA National Model: A framework for school counseling programs
Call Number: LB 1027.5 .A43

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of school psychology.
Call Number: Reference LB1025.55 .E523

Cover Art
Historical encyclopedia of school psychology
Call Number: Reference LB1027.55 .H57
Information on significant terms, events, persons, and concepts.

 

School Counseling Handbooks

Handbooks present a comprehensive survey of theory and research and are useful places to start a research paper. The titles listed below are representative of many that are available in the Marymount Library.

Cover Art
Comprehensive handbook of multicultural school psychology
Call Number: LB1027.55 .C66

Cover Art
Handbook of pediatric psychology in school settings
Call Number: LB1027.55 .H36

Cover Art
Oxford handbook of school psychology
Call Number: LB1027.55 .O94 2011
ISBN: 0195369807

Cover Art
Professional school counseling: A handbook of theories, programs and practices
Call Number: LB1027.5 .P6593

Cover Art
School counseling principles: Ethics and law
Call Number: LB1027.5 .S2714

Cover Art
School counseling principles: Foundations and basics
Call Number: LB1027.5 .S2715

Librarian

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip