Plot Summaries
Sources designated with REF in the call number, unless otherwise noted, are located on the first floor of the Reinsch Library and do not circulate.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction. (7 vol.) REF PN3321 .C7 Biographical data, analysis (plot summary and criticism), and bibliographies for international writers of short fiction.
Masterplots II: Short Story Series. (8 vol.) REF PN3326 .M27 Plots and critical evaluations for major international 19th and 20th century short stories.
Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias
Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story. REF PS374 .S5 C57 Short essays on major writers and themes. Biographical entries on authros with short bibliographies and critical studies.
Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature. REF PN771 .C575 Broad selection of topics with relevance to 20th century European literature. Brief articles on individual authors, including biographical and critical discussions.
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters. (5 vol.) REF PN44 .M3 Entries are arranged by the title of work and each entry includes the author’s name, publication date, genre (novel, novella, drama, poetry, and short fiction), locale, time of action, and plot type.
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century. (4 vol.) REF PN771 .E5 Entries focus on major and representative writers; articles on world literatures and topical articles on literary movements.
Facts on File Companion to the American Short Story. REF PS374 .S5 F33 Focuses on short story writers from the early 19th century to the 1990s. Brief entries on authors, themes, literary terms, etc.
The Oxford Companion to American Literature. REF PS21 .H3 Brief entries in American authors with biographical sketches, short bibliographies, and cross-references.
The Oxford Companion to English Literature. REF PR19 .O94. Contains brief entries on authors, terminology, and literary movements.
Reader's Companion to the Short Story in English. REF PS374 .S5 R43 Focuses on the short story writers from the latter half of the twentieth century from 1960 to the present. The essays provide biographical information, criticism, and analysis.
Critical Excerpts
Short Story Criticism. REF PN3373 .S386 Selected full-text available in Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on short ficiton writers of all eras and nationalities. Entries focus on authors or on particular stories. Cross-references to coverage in other collections of critical excerpts published by Gale.
Contemporary Literary Criticism. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. Selected full-text available in Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers who died between 1800 and 1899.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Selected full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database; General information, chronological critical excerpts from first published to the present, and bibliographies on world writers who died between 1900 and 1999.
Author Bio-Bibliographies
Contemporary Authors. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database. Biographical data, often including interviews, and bibliographies for world writers from 1900 to the present. Includes writers of public interest from multiple fields, including media.
Cyclopedia of World Authors. (5 vol.) REF PN451 .M36 Profiles on novelists, short-story writers, playwrights, poets, and screenwriters. Each entry contains biographical information, the author's primary genre(s), listing of the author's principal works, and bibliography.
Dictionary of Literary Biography. Full-text available in the Literature Resource Center database. Includes biographical data and lengthy critical essays on major world authors from all eras.
Reference Guide to Short Fiction REF PN3373 .R36 Biographical information and signed critical essays on international writers of short ficiton from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Contact Me |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask A Librarian
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window below, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.
Chat
If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu.


Loading...
