This is the "Getting Started" page of the "State and Local Politics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

State and Local Politics   Tags: politics  

This subject guide includes books, research databases, and links to useful websites.
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2013 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/statelocalpol Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Statistical Information

Cover Art
County and City Data Book
Call Number: REF HA202 .A36
Electronic version and and print versions. Tables with statistics which focus on the counties and cities of the United States.

Cover Art
County and City Extra:Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book
Call Number: REF HA203 .C68
Annual update to County City Data Book.

LexisNexis Statistical
On line database which indexes and links to the full text of thousands of statistical reports and tables

LexisNexis Statistical Insight Datasets
Database that allows you to create custom tables and charts with data provided from over 50 providers. Most US data can be shown by state, often by county, sometimes by census tract and zip code.

Cover Art
Places, Towns, and Townships
Call Number: REF HT123 .P53
Book of tables containing statistical information on large cities to small towns.

Cover Art
State Rankings
Call Number: REF HA203 .U17
Book of charts containing extensive and comprehensive statistics about the 50 states.

Cover Art
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: READY REF HA202 .S797 (earlier years are in the Reference stacks)
Statistics on all aspects of the United States; extensive index where the numbers refer to the table not the page.

 

Background Information

Cover Art
Almanac of American Politics
Call Number: REF JK 1012 .A445
Includes overview of each state with in-depth profiles of every governor and member of Congress.

Cover Art
Book of the States
Call Number: REF JK2403 .B6
Comprehensive collection of information and trends about state government; contains tables.

Cover Art
Cultures of the States
Call Number: REF JK2408 .F79
Summarizes prominent factors considered by state governments and provides many rankings of all states using hundreds of variables regarding fiscal expenditure, personal income, crime, health and education.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Political Science
Call Number: Electronic Book
Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association a core reference to the "central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics" and "the intersections of politics with philosophy, cultural studies, sociology, religion, psychology, history, and economics".

Cover Art
50 States
Call Number: REF E180 .A15
Provides basic data on population, geography, and more in-depth coverage of the history of the state.Includes tables of statistics on the state and a bibliography with web resources.

Cover Art
Municipal Yearbook
Call Number: REF JS344 .C5 A24
Information on local government management, including trends; excellent tables.

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
Call Number: REF E156 .W67
Information on each state, including map and bibliography

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Gail Flatness
Contact Info
Reinsch Library Room 145
703-526-6845
gail.flatness@marymount.edu
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the refererence desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip