This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Typography & Printing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Typography & Printing  

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2013 URL: http://marymount.libguides.com/typography Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

News about Typography and Fonts

News from CreativePro.com

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Resources for Getting Started

The following background sources are located on the first floor of Reinsch Library and may be used within the library.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Typographic Desk Reference : TDR. REF Z118.5 .R67 Limited to Latin-based writing systems with an emphasis on form and practical application. Includes four primary sections: Terms, Glyphs, Anatomy & Form, and Classification & Specimens.

The Designer’s Lexicon: the Illustrated Dictionary of Design, Printing, and Computer Terms. REF Z246 .C2 Most entries in this dictionary of printing and design terms are illustrated and cross-referenced.

20th-Century Type. REF Z250 .A2 B57  An overview of the history and evolution of typography, organized by decade; with over 300 illustrations that are as significant as the text.

The TypEncyclopedia: A User’s Guide to Better Typography. REF Z253 .R759 Entries, with both illustration and text, on over 100 key terms in typography; arranged alphabetically; use the comprehensive index to locate terms discussed within these entries.

Typographers on Type: An Illustrated Anthology from William Morris to the Present Day.REF Z250 .A2 T9 Writings from 48 famous typographers, each with a brief introduction; arranged chronologically.

Typeface Sources

30 Essential Typefaces for a Lifetime. REF Z250.A2 P36  Defines 30 of the most useful and classic typefaces for all design needs and occasions.

American Metal Typefaces of the Twentieth Century. REF Z250 .M137 Short entries with examples of each typeface.

Modern Encyclopedia of Typefaces, 1960-1990. REF Z250 .W238  Approximately 330 typefaces from this time period; arranged alphabetically.

Rookledge’s International Typefinder: The Essential Handbook of Typeface Recognition and Selection. REF Z250 .P42 Consists primarily of examples of typefaces with minimal text describing each category of typeface.

The Type Specimen Book: 544 Different Typefaces with over 3000 Sizes Shown in Complete Alphabets. REF Z250 .V111

Typographic Specimens: The Great Typefaces. REF Z250 .T97 Entries on 38 of the finest typefaces; arranged alphabetically.

Biographies

Rookledge’s International Handbook of Type Designers: A Biographical Directory. REF Z250 .A2 E27 Biographical sketches of over 175 type designers.

The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers. REF NC997 .L54  Short entries arranged alphabetically; contains a subject index in the front of the book.

Twentieth Century Type Designers. REF Z250 .A2 C364 Articles of varying lengths on 24 famous type designers arranged chronologically; also contains two historical overviews.

Librarian

Profile Image
Viral Amin
Contact Info
Phone: (703) 284-1534
Send Email
 

Ask A Librarian

If you have a question or need help you can use the chat window below, call the refererence desk at 703-284-1649 or email us at library@marymount.edu. 

 

Chat

If you have a question or need help, you can use the chat window, call the reference desk at 703-284-1649, or email us at library@marymount.edu. 


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip