You can search for books and eBooks in MULibrary Search directly in the search box below. This page contains helpful tips for locating these materials for your specific program.
If you need help finding or accessing a book or eBook, contact a librarian.
Need to borrow a laptop for class? Planning a game night with board games? Need to know how long you can borrow a book for? Check out our loan periods chart! You can find all the materials we loan out and how long you can borrow them by clicking on the link below!
Interested in business books but don't know exactly what you're looking for? Would you rather browse the shelves than search our online catalog? Below are the call numbers related to business.
If you need help, contact a librarian (we love books!).
HA Statistics
HB Economic theory. Demography
HC Economic history and conditions
HD Industries. Land use. Labor
HE Transportation and communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HG9371-9399 Health insurance
HJ Public finance
RA Public aspects of medicine
RA Medical economics. Economics of medical care. Employment
The Affordable Care Act and Medicare in Comparative Context by
Burdened with perennially rising costs and responsible for providing health insurance to more than one sixth of all Americans, Medicare in its original form is fiscally and demographically unsustainable. In light of dramatic reforms under the Affordable Care Act, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the current state of Medicare. Eleanor D. Kinney explains how the ACA addresses systemic problems of cost and volume inflation; quality assurance; and fraud. Recognizing the potential for more radical change in the future, Kinney also explores the potential of Medicare to become a single-payer system. Comparisons are made with national health systems in Canada and the United Kingdom, from which the United States can draw valuable lessons. An approachable yet comprehensive account of Medicare and the ACA, this book will be invaluable for health care professionals and informed citizens.
Health Care Budgeting and Financial Management by
Today's health care managers, frequently, were yesterday's technicians, physicians, and nurses. This puts them in an interesting predicament, since they know the health care side of the business but often lack the financial management skills necessary to create budgets and manage finances in a health care setting. In this guide, William J. Ward Jr. offers easy-to-understand explanations of basic accounting concepts, including cash flow, operating cost and cost behavior, revenue and reimbursement, and so much more. Providing clearly presented financial information in the context of health care, Ward's book is a one-stop desk reference that provides practical, useful tools and knowledge that readers can immediately put to use. It will help managers, directors, and clinical leaders who work in hospitals, physician practices, and other provider organizations to effectively manage their financial resources on a day-to-day basis, providing guidance for essential tasks such as preparing budgets, managing their departments, and making decisions around financial issues.
Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook 2019-2020 by
A strategic business planning resource for executives in medical and health care organizations. It identifies market trends, ideas to expand current business activities, and provides data to support strategic planning and market development efforts.
Health Care Costs by
Rising health care cost is a major concern for health policy makers since the 1960s. Statistical analysis of medical cost data is becoming increasingly important with heightened interests in containing healthcare cost. In order to better understand the factors associated with the growth in medical expenditures, it is important to study the longitudinal history of medical care cost data. The research provided in Chapter One of this book is important for developing several new methods to enhance our understanding of how and why health care expenditures may change over time for an individual. It provides an excellent discussion of the contemporary issues in modeling medical costs, as well as new statistical models which are being developed for solving ongoing problems. Chapter Two and Chapter Three review the application of the da Vinci surgical system in general surgery, and discusses a cost analysis of the da Vinci robot in gynecological operations.
Health Care Quality Management by
In today's challenging health care environment, health care organizations are faced with improving patient outcomes, redesigning business processes, and executing quality and risk management initiatives. Health Care Quality Management offers an introduction to the field and practice of quality management and reveals the best practices and strategies health care organizations can adopt to improve patient outcomes and program quality.
Private Health Insurance and the Affordable Care Act by
Private health insurance (PHI) is the predominate form of health insurance coverage in the United States. The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, as amended, expands federal private health insurance market requirements, and requires the creation of health insurance exchanges (marketplaces) to provide certain individuals and small employers access to private insurance, among other provisions. This book explains in further detail these private health insurance market reforms in the ACA and discusses the economic issues of the ACA.
Health Care Information Systems by
This most widely used textbook in the field has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect changes in the health care industry and the renewed focus on health care information technology initiatives. Two new chapters cover Federal efforts to enhance quality of patient care through the use of health care information technology and strategy considerations.
Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac 2019 by
The only complete market research guide to the health care and medical industry--for strategic planning, competitive intelligence, employment searches or financial research. No other source provides this massive book's easy-to-understand comparisons of national health expenditures, emerging technologies, patient populations, hospitals, clinics, corporations, research, Medicare, Medicaid, managed care and many other areas of vital importance. You'll find a complete overview, industry analysis and market research report in one superb, value-priced package."...Makes it easy to understand managed care, medical finances and the technology behind today's health care. Business people, marketers, researchers and professionals...who need in-depth information on the health care industry can benefit from this unique resource."Health Care Quarterly- The Business Journal
Financial Management Strategies for Hospitals and Healthcare Organizations
In this book, a world-class editorial advisory board and an independent team of contributors draw on their experience in operations, leadership, and Lean managerial decision making to share helpful insights on the valuation of hospitals in today s changing reimbursement and regulatory environments.
Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance
Ideal for individuals needing basic healthcare finance skills. Presents a broad overview of healthcare finance, but focuses on tasks that are essential to the operational management of clinical services, including estimating costs and profits, planning and budgeting, analyzing new equipment purchases, using metrics to monitor operations, and working with financial statements.
Futurescan 2019-2024: Healthcare Trends and Implications
Futurescan 2019-2024 includes articles from industry thought leaders on eight key issues regarding the transformation of health care. The expert insights in this latest edition of Futurescan on the transformation of health care are supported by data from a survey of health care leaders from across the country.
Healthcare Data Analytics
At the intersection of computer science and healthcare, data analytics has emerged as a promising tool for solving problems across many healthcare-related disciplines. Supplying a comprehensive overview of recent healthcare analytics research, Healthcare Data Analytics provides a clear understanding of the analytical techniques currently available to solve healthcare problems.
Healthcare Delivery in the U. S. A.
With the same clarity that made the previous edition a bestseller, Healthcare Delivery in the U.S.A.: An Introduction, Second Edition provides readers with the understanding required to navigate the healthcare provider field. Brilliantly simple, yet comprehensive, this updated edition explains how recent health care reform will impact hospitals and health systems. It includes updated case studies and describes the new organizational structures being driven by current market conditions. Focusing on healthcare management, the book addresses the range of topics critical to understanding the U.S. healthcare system, including the quality of care movement, recent finance reform, and the recent increase in merger and acquisition activity. Dr. Schulte walks readers through the history of the development of U.S. healthcare delivery. She describes the various venues of care delivery as well as the different elements of the financing system. Offering a glimpse into the global market and medical tourism, the text includes coverage of legal and regulatory issues, workforce, and the drivers and barriers that are shaping healthcare delivery around the world. Painting a clear and up-to-date picture, this quick-and-easy read provides you with the understanding of the terminology, structures, roles, relationships, and nuances needed to interact effectively and efficiently with anyone in the healthcare provider field.
Health Care Operations and Supply Chain Management
This resource provides students with a thorough foundation in operations management, supply chain management, and the strategic implementation of programs, techniques, and tools for reducing costs and improving quality in health care organizations.
Health Care Operations Management
Provides comprehensive and practical coverage of all aspects of operations management specific to the healthcare industry. It covers everything from hospital finances to project management, patient flows, performance management, process improvement, and supply chain management.
Health Organizations
Organizations are complex human systems that have evolved over time and continue to do so in an increasingly globalized, information enriched, technology intensive era such as the 21st century. This is especially so following the Affordable Care Act legislation and regulations in the U.S. This book addresses these changes by integrating new content throughout every chapter and topic area.
Health Policy and Politics
Encompasses the entire health policy process from agenda setting through policy and program evaluation.
Health Policy Issues
Management Accounting in Health Care Organizations
A user-oriented approach to management accounting concepts and techniques This thoroughly revised new edition of Management Accounting in Health Care Organizations provides introductory-level instruction and a user-oriented approach to management accounting concepts and techniques that help prepare students for managerial work in health care.
Managing Health Organizations for Quality and Performance
Looks at health care management from the perspective of quality improvement. The book reflects the importance of creating quality and value in public health and health services organizations. It introduces complex and important topics but is written in a highly accessible manner.
