LibGuides: MKT 211 Visual Merchandising: Images

Images

The images you use in your projects and presentations must all come from refutable sources. There are multiple trustworthy source you can search for images of buildings, floors plans, etc. I recommend starting your search in one of the sites in the 'Websites for images' box below. In addition there are directions on how to conduct a reverse image search in order to find refutable sources for online images. If you are struggling finding an image don't hesitate to contact a librarian!

Databases for AA images

WGSN
WindowsWear
Includes best-in-class visual merchandising, retail design, window displays, product packaging, e-commerce, and more, of the hottest global brands.
** Users are required to create a FREE account prior to accessing this database. If you have any issues contact a librarian.

Websites for images

DPLA - Images
DPLA Images lets you search the Digital Public Library of America, a collection of millions of cultural heritage objects from libraries, archives, and museums across the country, for images. Enter a search term, or click "surprise me" for a treat. Clicking on each result opens up the image's description, if available, and a link to view the object on the DPLA website.
NYPL Digital Collections
Explore 697,874 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
LOC Prints & Photographs
Unique in their scope and richness, the picture collections number more than 15 million images. These include photographs, historical prints, posters, cartoons, documentary drawings, fine prints, and architectural and engineering designs. While international in scope, the collections are particularly strong in materials documenting the history of the United States and the lives, interests, and achievements of the American people.

Reverse Google Image Searching

If you have located an image online and would like to find out if it is available on a reputable site (like those listed above) you can do a reverse image search in Google. Conducting this search will list all of the websites that contain an image. This is especially helpful if you are using images from Pinterest and need to find the original source of the image.

1st: Go to Google images and click on the camera to search by image.

2. Choose the ‘Upload an image’ option and then upload the image.

3. Browse results for an academically appropriate source.