HPR 215 Introduction to Public Health : Websites

Source page leading to data topics, sources and surveys maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Monitors childhood immunization coverage. See this webpage to find data for children, teens and adults. NCHS also periodically conducts longitudinal components to our major ongoing surveys, such as the Longitudinal Studies of Aging, which were conducted in conjunction with the National Health Interview Survey. Data coverage began in April 1994.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Data Query System (DQS) has extensive data on more than 150 health topics. DQS helps you access estimates from many different sources, all in one place. Coverage dates are generally from 1999 to date. Datasets can be downloaded.

The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) collects data about the health of adults and children in the United States. We also collect data about what participants eat, drink, and take as supplements to determine how many nutrients are in their diet. These dietary interviews and blood tests help us measure the nutritional status of U.S. adults and children.
From Overview section of website.

The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) has monitored the health of the nation since 1957. NHIS data on a broad range of health topics are collected through personal household interviews. Links include access to surveys, datasets, and research.

The National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) gathers information on pregnancy and births, marriage and cohabitation, infertility, use of contraception, family life, and general and reproductive health. The survey results are used by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and others to plan health services and health education programs, and to do statistical studies of families, fertility, and health. Links to some of those studies are included on this web site, under “Publications and Information Products.”
Description from website.

Provides access to data on registration of vital events – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths. Also includes links to research studies based on data. NCHS works in partnership with the vital registration systems in each jurisdiction to produce critical information on such topics as teenage births and birth rates, prenatal care and birth weight, risk factors for adverse pregnancy outcomes, infant mortality rates, leading causes of death, and life expectancy.

This page is archived for historical purposes and is no longer being updated

The State and Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (SLAITS) collects important health care data at State and local levels. This data collection mechanism was developed by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It supplements current national data collection strategies by providing in-depth State and local area data to meet various program and policy needs in an ever-changing health care system.
Description above from website.

NCHS collects data through population surveys, healthcare provider surveys, and data collection systems.
Description from website.

CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research) is a user-friendly data system that integrates multiple public health data sources from the CDC. Search national data for birth, death and demographic characteristics by disease, ICD code, state, region, and several other factors. Datasets can be identified and exported by viewing the “Data Collections” link on the homepage.

The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

This page provides more information about some of the surveys and data collections that NCHS has ended.

The APHA's mission is to "Improve the health of the public and achieve equity in health status." The APHA influences federal policy. Description from: https://www.apha.org/what-is-public-health

APIC's mission is " to create a safer world through the prevention of infection." APIC is the professional association for infection preventionists. Description from: https://apic.org/Professional-Practice/Emergency-Preparedness

PLACES provides health and health-related data using small-area estimation for counties, incorporated and census designated places, census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States. This project, which started in 2015, is a partnership between CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), and CDC Foundation.
Description from website.

This website "is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school." Description from: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/

"The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities. That is why we also provide the Roadmaps that provide guidance and tools to understand the data, and strategies that communities can use to move into action." Description from: http://www.countyhealthrankings.org/about-project

Description from website: https://www.rwjf.org/
"At RWJF, we are working alongside others to build a national Culture of Health. Our goal is to help raise the health of everyone in the United States to the level that a great nation deserves, by placing well-being at the center of every aspect of life."

CDC video 2016

"The VCU Center on Society and Health (formerly the VCU Center on Human Needs) is an academic research center that studies the health implications of social factors—such as education, income, neighborhood and community environmental conditions, and public policy. " Description from: http://www.societyhealth.vcu.edu/about/

The goal of WHO is " to build a better, healthier future for people all over the world. Working through offices in more than 150 countries, WHO staff work side by side with governments and other partners to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people." Description from: http://www.who.int/about/en/

Census Reporter focuses on the American Community Survey, or ACS.The ACS covers a variety of general-interest topics about the US, including basic demographics like age, sex, race, and a number of economic and social questions.
Description above from: https://censusreporter.org

When communities need to know how to protect and improve their population’s health, they turn to The Community Guide, a collection of evidence-based recommendations and findings from the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). CPSTF makes evidence-based recommendations about the effectiveness and economic impact of public health programs, services, and other interventions used in real-world settings such as communities, worksites, schools, faith-based organizations, military bases, public health clinics and departments, and integrated healthcare systems.
Description above from: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/pages/about-community-guide.html

The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Healthy People identifies public health priorities to help individuals, organizations, and communities across the United States improve health and well-being. Healthy People 2030, the initiative’s fifth iteration, builds on knowledge gained over the first 4 decades.
Description aboove from: https://odphp.health.gov/healthypeople/about