You can search for books and eBooks in MULibrary Search directly in the search box below. This page contains helpful tips for locating these materials for your specific program.
If you need help finding or accessing a book or eBook, contact a librarian.
HRMexico
A volume in International Human Resource Management Series Editor: Pramila Rao, Marymount University The main objective of this book is to provide students, scholars, and practitioners a detailed background on the human resource management (HRM) practices in Mexico. This book provides ten distinguishing chapters that focuses on the core functions of HRM in Mexico. The book took almost a year (Oct 2013 to Aug 2014) to complete. Scholarly and institutional databases were diligently searched for relevant articles for each chapter. This book has 27 tables that provide important information on key current concepts. There are two appendices providing valuable information on Mexican staffing practices. This edition has a new chapter that has live interviews with four professionals who have relevant experience in Mexico. There is paucity in obtaining consolidated information on Mexican HRM practices. This book addresses this dearth in the international management literature by providing individual chapters on the different HRM practices adopted in Mexico. This book will be beneficial for practitioners also as each chapter provides an implication section for business leaders.
Aging Workers and the Employee-Employer Relationship by 
The Resource Management and Capacity Planning Handbook: a Guide to Maximizing the Value of Your Limited People Resources
THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE TO MAXIMIZING LIMITED RESOURCES TO INNOVATE AND GROW Trying to accomplish too much with too few resources has become almost customary in business today. More often than not, though, all that we "accomplish" is delayed projects, mass confusion, and missed opportunities--not the achievement of business goals. The Resource Management and Capacity Planning Handbook helps you tackle the critical challenges of resource management and capacity planning head on by providing a proven tool for making the leap from chaos tocontrol: the Capacity Quadrant, a framework for addressing visibility, prioritization, optimization of existing resources, and integrated planning and governance. The Resource Management and Capacity Planning Handbook demystifies the complexities of resource capacity and demand management and offers clear ways for maximizing your limited resources to drive business growth and sustainability. This groundbreaking guide includes: The latest benchmark data from a comprehensive study of resource management Case studies from organizations that haveused the book's methods with great success Tools for overcoming common barriers and making decisions involving time capture, resource assignments, and competing priorities Recommendations on ownership of the organization'sresource management and capacity planning functions Considerations for addressing the human side of resource management and capacity planning The Resource Management and Capacity Planning Handbook gives you the information, insight, and proven methods to take your company where it has never been before. PRAISE FOR THE RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AND CAPACITY PLANNING HANDBOOK "There are lots of leadership books, scores of human resources books, and plenty of project and portfolio management books. This is the first book dedicated to what is essentially the drivetrain of organizations--the effective use of its people toward its most important activities. This is Manas's best and most ambitious book yet." -- Judith E. Glaser, CEO, Benchmark Communications, Inc.; Chairman of The Creating WE Institute; and author of the bestselling Conversational Intelligence "Jerry's book and the Capacity Quadrant model he outlines give you a realistic view of your workforce and an approach to maximizing the 'people power' in your organization that's easy to understand and apply. It could very well help transform your company and make you a hero in the process!" -- Dave Garrett, President and CEO, ProjectManagement.com "Unlike lifeless products, people skills and capacity are difficult to measure and vary widely between 'good' days and 'bad' days. Manas steps nimbly through this minefield with solid evidence and practical advice--all laced together in an easy-to-read style." -- R. Max Wideman FCSCE, FEIC, FICE, FPMI "It didn't take me too long into reading when I realized how much we really needed this book. I wish we had it when we started implementing Resource Capacity Planning and Investment Planning. I will make sure all of my staff members have copies." -- Gary Merrifield, PMP, Manager, IT Project Delivery and Quality Assurance, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana "A great guide to the most important topic in management: how to maximize your limited people resources." -- Hans Heuschkel, Senior Business Intelligence Analyst/Project Manager, Swiss insurance company
Mastering the Art of Recruiting
A priceless resource for seasoned as well as first-time executives, this is the playbook that explains how to recruit better people and build stronger, more effective teams. * Provides a step-by-step guide to recruiting better people, right away * Presents clear, practical, and immediately actionable advice instead of wasting the reader's time with text dedicated to explaining theory in extensive detail * Reviews the most common recruiting mistakes and describes ways to avoid or correct these errors * Enables readers to immediately improve their hiring effectiveness and over time to develop the intuitive feel for recruiting that makes them expert recruiters * Supplies the straightforward advice executives need to build great teams that will deliver superior revenues and profits for their businesses—an outcome that will accelerate their own careers
Managing Human Resources in Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises
Well-managed employment relationships can be a secret to business success, yet this factor is relatively poorly understood when it comes to small and medium-sized enterprises (SME's). Written by active researchers with teaching experience, this book brings together the fields of entrepreneurship and human resource management for the first time, providing entrepreneurship students with a solid grounding in HRM as well as a platform for further critical engagement with the research. The concise and authoritative style also enables the book to be used as a primer for researchers exploring this under-developed terrain. As the only student-focused specialist book on human resource management in entrepreneurial firms, this is vital reading for students and researchers in this area, as well as those interested in small business and management more generally.
• Need to know how long you can borrow a book?
• Want to borrow a laptop for class?
• Planning a game night with board games?
Our loan periods chart shows all the materials we loan out and how long you can borrow them. Select the link below.
Interested in business books but don't know exactly what you're looking for? Would you rather browse the shelves than search our? Below are the call numbers related to business.
If you need help, contact a librarian (we love books!).
HA Statistics
HB Economic theory. Demography
HC Economic history and conditions
HD Industries. Land use. Labor
HD 41 Competition
HD 58.7-58.95 Organizational behavior, change and effectiveness.
HD 66-66.2 Work groups. Team work in industry. Quality circles
HD 5650-5660 Employee participation in management.
HD 6941-6948 Employers' associations
HD 7795-8027 Labor policy
HD 8038 Professions (General). Professional employees
HE Transportation and communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public finance
Contact MU Libraries
2807 North Glebe Road, Arlington, Virginia 22207
Login to LibApps
