ID 620 Research & Development in ID: Selected Materials

The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams; Joseph Bizup; William T. FitzGerald

Design for Critical Care: an Evidence-Based Approach

Design Informed by Gordon H. Chong; Robert Brandt; W. Mike Martin The Power of Evidence to Create Design Excellence This practical, accessible book-for design professionals and students alike-is about design excellence and how to achieve it. The authors propose an evidence-based design approach that builds on design ingenuity with the use of research in ways that enhance opportunities to innovate. They show the power of research data to both reveal new design opportunities and convince stakeholders of the value of extraordinary work. A guide for all designers who want to earn their place as their clients' trusted advisor and who aspire to create places of beauty and purpose, the book demonstrates: An approach to applying evidence to design that neither turns designers into scientists nor requires large-firm resources The wide range of types of evidence that can be applicable to design and where to look for it Direct, practical application of the evidence-based design approaches in use today Provides tools to distinguish strong evidence that can improve design decisions from misleading assertions resulting from weak research Benefits of evidence-based design, including improved human and building performance Two featured case studies illustrate the theory and practice of evidence-based design. The work of the authors' 2005-2007 AIA College of Fellows Benjamin Latrobe Research Fellowship provided an empirical foundation for this book, and addresses the use of rigorous research methods to understand relationships between design choices and health outcomes. The California Academy of Sciences, designed by Renzo Piano Building Workshop, Chong Partners Architecture, and Arup, provides transparent evidence that enhances building technology performance in the context of a powerful design expression. In-depth interviews and case studies are clustered around three research categories: modeling, simulation, and data mining; social and behavioral science and the physical and natural sciences; and including cutting-edge use of neuroscience to understand human response to physical environments. The twenty-two featured thought leaders include: William Mitchell, MIT Media Lab; Fred Gage, Salk Institute; Phil Bernstein, Autodesk; Sheila Kennedy, Kennedy & Violich; James Timberlake, KieranTimberlake; William and Chris Sharples, SHoP Architects; Vivian Loftness, Carnegie Mellon University; John Zeisel, Hearthstone; Paco Underhill, Envirosell; Susan Ubbelohde and George Loisos, Loisos+Ubbelohde Architecture-Energy; Chris Luebkeman, Arup; Martin Fischer, Stanford University CIFE; and Kevin Powell, GSA.

Evidence-Based Design for Multiple Building Types by David H. Watkins

Evidence-Based Design of Elementary and Secondary Schools by Peter C. Lippman An in-depth, evidence-based design approach to the design of elementary and secondary schools The contemporary school must be a vibrant, living extension of its community. "Evidence-Based Design of Elementary and Secondary Schools" instructs design professionals on how to successfully achieve this goal. With assistance from research-intensive principles grounded in theories, concepts, and research methodologies--and with roots in the behavioral sciences--this book examines and provides strategies for pooling streams of information to establish a holistic design approach that is responsive to the changing needs of educators and their students.

Evidence Based Design: a Process for Research and Writing

Inquiry by Design by John Zeisel; John P. Eberhard (Foreword by)

Research-Inspired Design by Lily B. Robinson This textbook/workbook prepares interior design students for understanding how to change their professional practice from a project-based activity to a knowledge-based activity. Robinson and Parman address the different forms of quantitative and qualitative information, the different sources of materials (especially in the age of the Internet), and how to differentiate these sources and types of information. Instructors will find the text a vital research aid for the student to develop analytical skills and help them transform these scientific models into unique and innovative processes for their design projects.

Place Advantage by Sally Augustin; Augustin; Cindy Coleman; Neil Frankel Using psychology to develop spaces that enrich human experience Place design matters. Everyone perceives the world around them in a slightly different way, but there are fundamental laws that describe how people experience their physical environments. Place science principles can be applied in homes, schools, stores, restaurants, workplaces, healthcare facilities, and the other spaces people inhabit. This guide to person-centered place design shows architects, landscape architects, interior designers, and other interested individuals how to develop spaces that enrich human experience using concepts derived from rigorous qualitative and quantitative research. In Place Advantage: Applied Psychology for Interior Architecture, applied environmental psychologist Sally Augustin offers design practitioners accessible environmental psychological insights into how elements of the physical environment influence human attitudes and behaviors. She introduces the general principles of place science and shows how factors such as colors, scents, textures, and the spatial composition of a room, as well as personality and cultural identity, impact the experience of a place. These principles are applied to multiple building types, including residences, workplaces, healthcare facilities, schools, and retail spaces. Building a bridge between research and design practice, Place Advantage gives people designing and using spaces the evidence-based information and psychological insight to create environments that encourage people to work effectively, learn better, get healthy, and enjoy life.

Some Place Like Home by Toby Israel Both an accessible and fascinating title, this book reveals how our past experiences and psychological developments inform the choices we make today when selecting a place that we truly feel is our "home" It considers our "environmental autobiographies" and our psychological development in respect to urban experiences, focusing on the personal stories of Charles Jencks, Michael Graves and Andres Duany, three of the most prominent figures of our time from the world of design Both theoretical and practical exercises involve the reader in understanding and improving the quality of their own environment. An entirely new approach to architectural design which combines aesthetics and psychology

Designing for human behavior: architecture and the behavioral sciences. by Jon Lang

The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Interior Design by Mark Hinchman

Dictionary of Furniture by Charles Boyce; Joseph T. Butler (Foreword by)

Encyclopedia of Interior Design by Joanna Banham (Editor)

Encyclopedia of Furnishing Textiles, Floorcoverings and Home Furnishing Practices, 1200-1950 by Clive Edwards

The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design by Clive Edwards The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design provides a comprehensive guide to design, with entries on key topics in the history and theory of design, addressing a range of design forms including graphic, textile, furniture, metal, ceramic, fashion, stage and film, vehicle and product design, as well as national histories of design and key design movements.The Encyclopedia provides up-to-date peer reviewed coverage of the last 250 years of design history, with global coverage by leading international design scholars and design historians.Complete with a comprehensive index and full cross referencing, The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design is the definitive guide to Design.