You can search for books and eBooks in MULibrary Search directly in the search box below. This page contains helpful tips for locating these materials for your specific program.
If you need help finding or accessing a book or eBook, contact a librarian.
Interested in fashion books but don't know exactly what you're looking for? Would you rather browse the shelves than search our ?
Here is a list of some Fashion Call Numbers so that you can find the fashion sections in the library and browse through the shelves until you find something interesting!
| GT 500 - 2370 | Costume. Dress. Fashion |
| HD 9720 - 9975 | Manufacturing industries |
| HF 1 - 6182 | Commerce |
| NC 1 - 1940 | Drawing. Design. Illustration |
| NK 1 - 999 | Decorative Arts |
| NK 4700 - 4890 | Costumes |
| NK 8800 - 9505.5 | Textile |
| TR 1 - 1050 | Photography |
| TS 1 - 2301 | Manufactures |
| TS 1300 - 1865 | Textile industries |
| TT 490 - 695 | Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring |
| TT 697 - 927 | Home arts. Homecrafts Including sewing, embroidery, decorative crafts |
Need to borrow a laptop for class? Planning a game night with board games? Need to know how long you can borrow a book for? Check out our loan periods chart! You can find all the materials we loan out and how long you can borrow them by clicking on the link below!
Fashion Innovators by
Highlighting the importance of fashion and design and its impact on social and cultural norms and trends over the hundred years, this brand-new volume in the Innovators series profiles the most innovative and important individuals in fashion history. Inno
Smart textiles for designers : inventing the future of fabrics by
Smart Textiles for Designers introduces the different qualities and properties that can be embedded in, integrated with, and applied to fabrics and looks at the different contexts in which these smart textiles can be used, from healthcare to haute couture, firefighting to sportswear. A survey of specific fabrics grouped by properties provides a core reference section and a palette for the designer to work from. The book also examines five different design approaches and features interviews with leading designers and design teams, showing their processes and working methods.
Fashion Supply Chain Management by
Fashion Supply Chain Management: Industry and Business Analysis focuses on reporting both quantitative research on FSCM and exploratory studies on emerging supply chain management issues in the fashion industry. This reference will help both academicians and practitioners understand more about the latest development and solution schemes in FSCM, as it is a pioneering text which reports many important research results in quantitative FSCM.
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Fashion by
Dictionary of Fashion, 4th Edition builds on the success of previous editions with over 15,000 entries, including apparel, accessories, and their components, historical and textiles terms that relate to contemporary fashion and the language of the fashion industry. Tortora and Keiser organize terms over fifty broad categories that are fully cross-referenced to the alphabetical listing to promote understanding of related terminology. Lavishly illustrated with over 800 illustrations capturing the styles and details of fashion, this reference work is a must have for students, designers, fashion merchandisers, historians, and fashion enthusiasts.
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design by
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design provides a comprehensive guide to design, with entries on key topics in the history and theory of design, addressing a range of design forms including graphic, textile, furniture, metal, ceramic, fashion, stage and film, vehicle and product design, as well as national histories of design and key design movements.The Encyclopedia provides up-to-date peer reviewed coverage of the last 250 years of design history, with global coverage by leading international design scholars and design historians.Complete with a comprehensive index and full cross referencing, The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design is the definitive guide to Design.
Fashion Design, Referenced by
Fashion Design, Referenced is a comprehensive guide through the art and industry of fashion design, richly illustrated with over 1,000 photographs and drawings. Within the framework of four central categories, Fashion Design, Referenced examines the many interwoven elements that form the tapestry of fashion. “Fundamentals” provides an overview of the essential structure of the fashion profession (its organization, specializations, and centers) and looks at shifts in style over time and in ever-faster cycles going forward.
The Language of Fashion Design : 26 Principles Every Fashion Designer Should Know by
Learning a new discipline is similar to learning a new language; in order to master the foundation of fashion design, you must first master the basic building blocks of its language the definitions, function, and usage. The Language of Fashion Design provides students and fashion designers with the basic elements of fashion design, divided into twenty-six easy-to-comprehend chapters. This visual reference includes an introductory, historical view of the elements, as well as an overview of how these elements can and have been used across multiple design disciplines.
Fashion Merchandising by
Highlighting the skills and considerations needed to manage products, this book will also help readers to understand processes such as product development, the supply chain and branding. It examines traditional and newer roles within the industry, discussing the roles of buyers, retailers and merchandisers. Interviews, photographs and case studies combine to make this an exciting and current career guide.
Fashion Buying by
Containing fully updated and beautifully illustrated need-to-know info, this revised second edition of the bestselling textbook on fashion buying contains everything today's fashion management student needs to give them a clear head-start in this lucrative but highly competitive industry. Fashion Buying uniquely looks at what fashion buying entails in terms of the activities, processes and people involved - from the perspective of the fashion buyer. The book breaks down the five key areas of buying activity for those wishing to pursue a career in the industry, crucially exploring the role of the fashion buyer, sources of buying inspiration, sourcing and communication, merchandise planning and trends in fashion buying. Featuring completely revised content on retail typology (including need-to-know info on demographics, price points and markets), and selecting and buying garments (line sheets, purchase orders and lookbooks), Fashion Buying now includes valuable new sections on customer profiling, merchandise pricing (mark-ups, markdowns and how pricing is calculated for profit), and trends. Also included in this practical handbook are insightful interviews with both established and emergent fashion creatives. Business case studies put the contents of each chapter into professional context and provide insider perspective; while industry-focused exercises and activities enable readers to practise applying their new skills and so gain a competitive advantage in both their studies and buying careers. Written by industry experts, Fashion Buying is an invaluable go-to resource and leading textbook for fashion design, marketing, buying and merchandising students.
Merchandising Mathematics for Retailing by
Written by experienced retailers, Merchandising Mathematics for Retailing, 5/e introduces students to the essential principles and techniques of merchandising mathematics, and explains how to apply them in solving everyday retail merchandising problems. Instructor- and student-friendly, it features clear and concise explanations of key concepts, followed by problems, case studies, spreadsheets, and summary problems using realistic industry figures. Most chapters lend themselves to spreadsheet use, and skeletal spreadsheets are provided to instructors within the Instructor's Manual. This edition is extensively updated to reflect current trends, and to discuss careers from the viewpoint of working professionals. It adds 20+ new case studies that encourage students to use analytic skills, and link content to realistic retail challenges. This edition also contains a focused discussion of profitability measures, and an extended discussion of assortment planning.
Promotion in the Merchandising Environment by
The third edition of Promotion in the Merchandising Environment explains the process of promotion and the promotion mix tools used for creating successful campaigns. With expanded coverage of digital media, updated examples and images of retail advertisements and promotional activities in each streamlined chapter, students will gain a full understanding of how to create a successful promotion campaign for retail products.
Fashion Marketing Communications by
Fashion is all about image. Consequently, fashion marketing communications - encompassing image management and public relations, branding, visual merchandising, publicity campaigns, handling the media, celebrity endorsement and sponsorship, crisis management etc. - have become increasingly important in the fashion business. This textbook for students of fashion design, fashion marketing, communications and the media sets out all that they need for the increasing number of courses in which the subject is a part.
This link opens in a new window
Orderly Fashion by
For any market to work properly, certain key elements are necessary: competition, pricing, rules, clearly defined offers, and easy access to information. Without these components, there would be chaos. Orderly Fashion examines how order is maintained in the different interconnected consumer, producer, and credit markets of the global fashion industry. From retailers in Sweden and the United Kingdom to producers in India and Turkey, Patrik Aspers focuses on branded garment retailers--chains such as Gap, H&M, Old Navy, Topshop, and Zara. Aspers investigates these retailers' interactions and competition in the consumer market for fashion garments, traces connections between producer and consumer markets, and demonstrates why market order is best understood through an analysis of its different forms of social construction. Emphasizing consumption rather than production, Aspers considers the larger retailers' roles as buyers in the production market of garments, and as potential objects of investment in financial markets. He shows how markets overlap and intertwine and he defines two types of markets--status markets and standard markets. In status markets, market order is related to the identities of the participating actors more than the quality of the goods, whereas in standard markets the opposite holds true. Looking at how identities, products, and values create the ordered economic markets of the global fashion business, Orderly Fashion has wide implications for all modern markets, regardless of industry.
Fashion Brands by
Once a luxury that only the elite could afford, fashion is now accessible to all. High street brands such as Zara, Topshop and H&M have put fashion within the reach of anyone, whilst massive media attention has turned designers such as Tom Ford, Alexander McQueen and Stella McCartney into brands in their own right. Fashion Brands takes you 'behind the seams', so to speak, exposing how the use of advertising, store design and the media has altered our fashion 'sense' and how a mere piece of clothing can be transformed into something with mystical allure. Packed with first-hand interviews with fashion brand gurus and industry insiders, this fully updated 3rd edition of the international bestselling Fashion Brands has its finger on the fashion pulse more firmly than ever. It now includes more on celebrity fashion brands and the rise of the 'It' girls and their influence to further analyze every aspect of fashion from a marketing perspective.
Fashion Branding and Consumer Behaviors by
Fashion Branding and Consumer Behaviors presents eye-opening theory, literature review and original research on the mutual influence of branding strategies and consumer response. Contributors use multiple methods to analyze consumers' psychosocial needs and the extent that their fulfillment goes beyond the usefulness or value of the items they purchase as well as the fashion industry's means of communicating brand identity and enhancing brand loyalty. Along the way, these studies raise important questions about consumer behaviors, consumer welfare, environmental ethics and the future of consumer research. Included in the coverage: A symbolic interactionist perspective on fashion brand personality and advertisement response. Optimizing fashion branding strategies in a fluctuating market. An analysis of fashion brand extensions by artificial neural networks. Domestic or foreign luxury brands? A comparison of status-nbsp; and non-status- seeking teenagers. The impact of consumers' need for uniqueness on purchase perception. How brand awareness relates to market outcome, brand equity and the marketing mix. A breakthrough volume on the complexities of how and why we buy, Fashion Branding and Consumer Behaviors will captivate researchers and practitioners in the fields of consumer psychology, marketing and economics.
