LibGuides: Faculty: Fashion Design and Merchandising: Websites

Images

WGSN
WGSN has an image library that is searchable by season, city, style or designer

“We Wear Culture”
“We Wear Culture” is a collaboration between Google and more than 180 museums, schools, fashion institutions, and other organizations from all parts of the globe. It is a searchable guide to a collective archive of some 30,000 fashion pieces and more than 450 exhibits on different topics.
NYPLPublic Domain Collections: Free to Share & Reuse
Access to 180,000+ Digital Collections are in the public domain via the New York Public Library.
Images are available to download such items in the highest resolution available directly from the Digital Collections website.
DPLA - Images
DPLA Images lets you search the Digital Public Library of America, a collection of millions of cultural heritage objects from libraries, archives, and museums across the country, for images. Enter a search term, or click "surprise me" for a treat. Clicking on each result opens up the image's description, if available, and a link to view the object on the DPLA website.
Manchester Art Galleries
A digital archive with over 25,000 works. Given these vast holdings, new users may wish to start by look at the Highlights of the Collection area.

The three other highlight collections include Hidden Gems, New Faces and The Costume Online area which features a pleasant melange of thematic tours, including Clothes for Work, Recycled Fashion, and Materials and Making. In this final area, visitors can learn about everything from club clothes to Victorian get-ups for riding a bicycle.

Visual Literacy

Visual Literacy Standards
The Association of College & Research Libraries has a committee working on establishing standards for visual literacy for higher education. They are defining visual literacy as "a set of abilities that enables an individual to effectively find, interpret, evaluate, use, and create images and visual media."

Free/Open Source Forecasting Resources

ESP TrendLab Blog
ESP Trendlab is a trend research + consulting agency, located in New York City, that detects and analyzes cutting-edge design trends for over 1000 leadership brands worldwide. From design and lifestyle to consumer mindsets and socio-cultural movements, ESP's intelligence blends strategic-level thinking with the newest core aesthetics — ultimately shaping products, perceptions and the world in which we live.

Reverse Google Image Searching

If you have located an image online and would like to find out if it is available on a reputable site (like those listed above) you can do a reverse image search in Google. Conducting this search will list all of the websites that contain an image. This is especially helpful if you are using images from Pinterest and need to find the original source of the image.

1st: Go to Google images and click on the camera to search by image.

2. Choose the ‘Upload an image’ option and then upload the image.

3. Browse results for an academically appropriate source.