LibGuides: Citation Tools : EndNote

EndNote Citation Manager Introduction

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a citation management tool that will help you keep track of your references when conducting research for assignments and papers and can help format your research papers and bibliographies. EndNote Online is available at no cost to Marymount students, faculty, and staff within the Web of Science database.

See the Quick Reference Guide below to learn how to set up and use EndNote Online.
The guide also provides EndNote Online users with information on the option of downloading an EndNote app to their personal device to sync EndNote Online content for remote use.
EndNote Online may be referred to as EndNote Web, EndNote Classic or EndNote Basic, so you may see those terms used in some online tutorials.
EndNote 20, EndNote 21, and EndNote Desktop applications are not included with EndNote Online access. The EndNote Online features are limited compared to the other versions of EndNote.

EndNote Online Quick Reference Guide

Setting Up Your EndNote Online Account

Sign-in or create an EndNote Online account
Use this link to access or register to create your EndNote account. Using your Marymount email address will allow you to access your account.

To optimize use of your EndNote account, try signing into the Web of Science database with your MU credentials, then sign into EndNote using the "Products" icon found in the upper right-hand corner.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window

EndNote Tutorial

Learn how to set up and access your EndNote Online account

Working with EndNote Online
This brief EndNote Online Quick Reference Guide along with a detailed one-hour tutorial provide instructions on using EndNote Online.
Citation Management - EndNote Online: Learn at Your Own Pace
This guide from the UC San Diego Library provides basic instructions on using EndNote Online.

Using MULibrary Search to Export Citations into EndNote Online

MULibrary Search

Follow these steps to search for articles and save citations into your EndNote account:

Search the library catalog at MULibrary Search.
Select one or more article titles that you want to export into your EndNote account.
Click on the EndNote icon and your selections will be uploated to the Unfiled folder or another folder of your choice.

Export your Citations from RefWorks to EndNote

If you have a collection of citations saved in a RefWorks account, you can follow these steps to transfer citations into your EndNote account.

Be sure to set up your EndNote Online account before exporting your citations.
Users can export all citations at one time, then create folders in EndNote to re-organize citations into each folder.
Another option is to export the contents of one folder at a time so that groups of citations are moved together into each folder.

Transferring References to EndNote Online from RefWorks

Using Web of Science to Search and Export Citations Into Your EndNote Account

Search Web of Science and export your citation into an RIS file.

Then to go your computer, find the downloaded RIS file and upload it into EndNote.

This two-step process can be used when searching most bibliographic databases.