DBA 712 Foster Creativity in Workplace: Databases

Search for datasets across multiple subject areas and organizational resources.

Data Commons (formerly the Google Public Data Explorer) makes large, public-interest datasets easy to explore and download. Use the search tools to create visualizations such as maps, graphs and timelines.

A subsidiary of Google, this online platform allows data scientists, machine learning engineers and general users to post, share and access public datasets on a wide range of topics. Use the filters link to identify topics and content.

View this MU Resource Guide to learn how to access All of Us data from the NIH. The All of Us Research Program, part of the National Institutes of Health, is a historic effort to collect and study data from a diverse cohort of one million or more participants living in the United States. Researchers can interact with All of Us data through the Research Hub.

PLACES provides health and health-related data using small-area estimation for counties, incorporated and census designated places, census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States. This project, which started in 2015, is a partnership between CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), and CDC Foundation.
Description from website.

CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research) is a user-friendly data system that integrates multiple public health data sources from the CDC. Search national data for birth, death and demographic characteristics by disease, ICD code, state, region, and several other factors. Datasets can be identified and exported by viewing the “Data Collections” link on the homepage.

See explanations of types of data products and data files produced by the CMS that are accessible to researchers and the public.

This data project is sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in coordination with several other data sources. Create county snapshots. Select the "Downloads" links to find datasets. See "Who We Work With" for a list of other health organization data sources.

The site is a repository for federal and regional government information, made available to the public, as a part of the 2009 US Open Government directive. Search datasets by keyword, national or local organization name.

DataRefuge is a public, collaborative project designed to address concerns about federal climate and environmental data.

Access highly used data sets available from the DHS. Key datasets include topics on immigration, law enforcement, emergency management, international trade, cybersecurity, infrastructure protection, screening, and maritime.

The Dept. of Energy (DOE) Data Explorer is a search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data submitted by various agencies to the DOE.

Comprehensive collection of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data. From the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME).

Search this portal and download datasets available from several U.S. health agencies. Topics include environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

The Datasets at the Library of Congress: A Research Guide lists several dataset collections by topics such as business, demographics, science and international sources.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census datasets and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States from 1790 to the present.

OpenFEMA provides access to FEMA program data, datafiles and visualizations on multiple aspects of emergency management.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan think tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Data sets can be downloaded with a free registration.

The SSA provides public data access datafiles.

This webpage provides lists of data files that can be downloaded from the CDC National Center for Health Statistics. The link to the data search tool "CDC WONDER" is provided on this page.

Data and statistics provided by national governments. Access many data reports compiled by The World Bank such as World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Global Economic Monitor, and African Development Indicators.