You can search for books and eBooks in MULibrary Search directly in the search box below. This page contains helpful tips for locating these materials for your specific program.
In the MULibrary Search Advanced Search box, you can limit your search results to "Resource Type: Books" to search for books only. You can add the name of the country you are interested in as a general keyword or as a subject heading.
If you need help finding or accessing a book or eBook, contact a librarian.
• Need to know how long you can borrow a book?
• Want to borrow a laptop for class?
• Planning a game night with board games?
Our loan periods chart shows all the materials we loan out and how long you can borrow them. Select the link below.
Encyclopedia of Global Religion
by
The multi-volume Encyclopedia of Global Religion provides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects. The encyclopedia includes topics related to the diaspora of cultures and dispersions of peoples; the transitional aspects of religious ideas and practices; the cultural diversity of religious traditions; and the responses of religion--both negative and positive--to multicultural society. The volumes include essays on the contemporary religious society of every country in the world. The contributors to the encyclopedia are leading authorities on these topics from around the world.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
by
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
World Clothing and Fashion
by
Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewellery) for men, women, and children. Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes - from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration - are examined in depth and detail. Fashion and design trends in diverse historical periods, regions and countries, and social and ethnic groups constitute a major area of coverage, as does the evolution of materials (from animal fur to textiles to synthetic fabrics) and production methods (from sewing and weaving to industrial manufacturing and computer-aided design). Dress as a reflection of social status, intellectual and artistic trends, economic conditions, cultural exchange, and modern media marketing are recurring themes. Influential figures and institutions in fashion design, industry and manufacturing, retail sales, production technologies, and related fields are also covered.
Food cultures of the world encyclopedia
Cross-Cultural Psychology
by
Shiraev and Levy provide a comprehensive review of theories and research in cross-cultural psychology within a critical thinking framework for examining, analyzing, and evaluating psychological data. A critical thinking framework, including "Critical Thinking" boxes and tables, provide practice in developing learning skills. More than thirty high-interest activities and exercises provide students ample opportunity for active learning and enhanced comprehension. This book introduces the field of cross-cultural psychology, discusses basic methodology for cross-cultural research, and explores the fields of sensation and perception, consciousness, intelligence, human development, emotion, motivation, social perception and interaction, psychological disorders from a cross-cultural perspective. Cross-Cultural / Multicultural Psychology and as a reader in Introductory Psychology
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History
by
A comprehensive encyclopedia of world history with 538 articles that trace the development of human history -- with a focus on area studies, global history, anthropology, geography, science, arts, literature, economics, women's studies, African-Americanstudies, and cultural studies related to all regions of the world--Provided by publisher.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture
by
Focusing on the cultural distinctiveness and diversity of the modern world, the six-volume Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture is designed to meet the needs of today's multicultural classrooms and libraries. Thematic organization makes studying a broad range of topics- from film and art to foods and fashions-ideal for students of world history and culture. Appealing to a wide range of audiences, the Encyclopedia gives readers quick access to the popular interests in countries around the world, all while offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century. Discover popular funk musicians in Nigeria, and the Senegalese performers who use a rich mix of hip-hop, reggae, and techno to sing about village life and women's rights. Find out about Belgium's long tradition of comics and graphic novels. Learn about Iran's plans, amidst all of its problems with the West, to encourage tourism. Uncover the story behind manga magazines (or comic books), which sell upwards of several million copies every week in Japan. The wealth of information inside the Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture is sure to surprise even the most seasoned pop culture aficionado. Focusing on the cultural distinctiveness and diversity of the modern world, this six-volume reference is designed to meet the needs of today's multicultural classrooms and libraries. Thematic organization makes studying a broad range of topics-ranging from film and folk art to foods and fashions-ideal for students of American history and culture. Appealing to a wide range of audiences, the Encyclopedia gives readers quick access to the most intriguing countries of the world, all while offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century. Each engaging volume in the six-volume set features in-depth chapters covering every crucial aspect of popular culture, including: -Architecture -Art -Dance -Fashion & Appearance -Film -Food & Foodways -Games, Toys, and Pastimes -Literature -Love, Sex, & Marriage -Music -Periodicals -Radio & Television -Sports and Recreation -Theater & Performance -Transportation & Travel Beyond reflecting the tastes and attitudes of the people, popular culture gives students a lens through which to understand a culture's customs, value system, and core beliefs. Interested in how a Danish cartoon can spark a fury of protests across Muslim world, why some high schools in the U.S. are testing all athletes for performance-enhancing drugs, or why India's recent decision to ban smoking on television and films has Bollywood fuming? No subject is off limits in this unique resource. Each volume provides an introduction to the region's popular culture in a broad context and a general bibliography. Other useful features include a comprehensive resource guide of print, electronic, and organization sources for each chapter; a full subject index; and 200 color illustrations that richly document current popular life and culture around the globe.
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa
by
In our age of globalization and multiculturalism, it has never been more important for Americans to understand and appreciate foreign cultures and how people live, love, and learn in areas of the world unfamiliar to most U.S. students and the general public. The four volumes in our cultural sociology reference encyclopedia take a step forward in this endeavor by presenting concise information on those regions likely to be most "foreign" to U.S. students: the Middle East, Asia, and Africa. The intent is to convey what daily life is like for people in these selected regions. It is hoped entries within these volumes will aid readers in efforts to understand the importance of cultural sociology, to appreciate the effects of cultural forces around the world, and to learn the history of countries and cultures within these important regions.
Encyclopedia of Global Studies
by
The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is thereference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
Culture Shock and Multiculturalism
by
It used to be widely accepted amongst anthropologists that when they conducted fieldwork with foreign cultures they experienced something called 'culture shock.' This book will argue that 'culture shock' is a useful model for understanding an important part of human experience. However, in its most widely-known form, the stage model, 'culture shock' has been heavily influenced by the same anti-science, latter-day religiosity that has become so influential more broadly: Multiculturalism. This book will examine culture shock through the model of 'religion.' It will show how the most well-known model of culture shock - so popular amongst business consultants, expatriates, international students and travelers - has become a means of promoting and sustaining this replacement religion which includes everything from dogmatism and fervour to conversion experience. By so doing, it will aim both to better understand culture shock and to show how it can still be useful, if divorced from its implicitly religious dimensions, to broadly scientific scholars. It will also suggest how anthropology itself might be stripped of its ideological infiltration and returned to the realm of science.
Contact MU Libraries
2807 North Glebe Road, Arlington, Virginia 22207
Login to LibApps