LibGuides: Finding Court Cases and Legislative Histories: Legislative History

Introduction to Finding Court Cases and Legislative History

Welcome students! Use the tabs along the top of the guide to navigate between different types of resources for your research.

Remember there are librarians available to help you with locating materials or conducting research. The last tab on this guide will connect you to the library via online chat, email, phone or in person.

To find additional legal and political science databases available at MU, see the list of Legal Studies Databases.

Creating a Legislative History

Legislative history refers to all the documentation relevant to the process of the enactment of a state, local or federal statute. Examining the materials compiled in a legislative history will give you some insight into the issues that influenced the passage of a particular law as well as the intention of the legislators.

Quick Start Guides

Congress.gov Quick Start Guide
The Quick Start Guide on Congress.gov provides step-by-step examples and images on how to search for a bill and follow legislative activities.
Compiling a Federal Legislative History: A Beginner’s Guide
A detailed research guide from the Library of Congress on finding legislative histories, congressional reports, hearings, committee prints, debates, and presidential statements.
HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative History Collection
The HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative History Library is a database that contains over 2,700 legislative compilations on key federal laws. Reports can be searched by keyword, public law number and date. A search help guide is included.
LLSDC: Legislative Source Book
The Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. (LLSDC) maintains an extensive list of research guides and resources on federal legislation, including abbreviations, citation examples, and search help.
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: U.S. States and Territories
The Guide to Law Online is a detailed collection of links to free online legal materials organized by jurisdiction. Each state or territory guide includes these sections: Introduction, Constitution, Executive Branch, Judicial Branch, Legislative Branch, Legal Guides, General Sources.

Video Tutorials on the Legislative Process

Image courtesy of https://www.congress.gov

Start by viewing video tutorials available from Congress.gov on the stages of the legislative process:

Overview of the Legislative Process
Introduction and Referral of Bills
Committee Consideration
Calendars and Scheduling
House Floor
Senate Floor
Executive Business in the Senate
Resolving Differences
Presidential Actions

Finding Court Cases and Legislative Histories: Legislative History

Introduction to Finding Court Cases and Legislative History

Creating a Legislative History

Quick Start Guides

Video Tutorials on the Legislative Process

Chat with a Librarian