Statistics and Datasets: Health and Health Care

Source page leading to data topics, sources and surveys maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Monitors childhood immunization coverage. See this webpage to find data for children, teens and adults. NCHS also periodically conducts longitudinal components to our major ongoing surveys, such as the Longitudinal Studies of Aging, which were conducted in conjunction with the National Health Interview Survey. Data coverage began in April 1994.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Data Query System (DQS) has extensive data on more than 150 health topics. DQS helps you access estimates from many different sources, all in one place. Coverage dates are generally from 1999 to date. Datasets can be downloaded.

The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) collects data about the health of adults and children in the United States. We also collect data about what participants eat, drink, and take as supplements to determine how many nutrients are in their diet. These dietary interviews and blood tests help us measure the nutritional status of U.S. adults and children.
From Overview section of website.

The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) has monitored the health of the nation since 1957. NHIS data on a broad range of health topics are collected through personal household interviews. Links include access to surveys, datasets, and research.

The National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) gathers information on pregnancy and births, marriage and cohabitation, infertility, use of contraception, family life, and general and reproductive health. The survey results are used by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and others to plan health services and health education programs, and to do statistical studies of families, fertility, and health. Links to some of those studies are included on this web site, under “Publications and Information Products.”
Description from website.

Provides access to data on registration of vital events – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths. Also includes links to research studies based on data. NCHS works in partnership with the vital registration systems in each jurisdiction to produce critical information on such topics as teenage births and birth rates, prenatal care and birth weight, risk factors for adverse pregnancy outcomes, infant mortality rates, leading causes of death, and life expectancy.

This page is archived for historical purposes and is no longer being updated

The State and Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (SLAITS) collects important health care data at State and local levels. This data collection mechanism was developed by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It supplements current national data collection strategies by providing in-depth State and local area data to meet various program and policy needs in an ever-changing health care system.
Description above from website.

NCHS collects data through population surveys, healthcare provider surveys, and data collection systems.
Description from website.

CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research) is a user-friendly data system that integrates multiple public health data sources from the CDC. Search national data for birth, death and demographic characteristics by disease, ICD code, state, region, and several other factors. Datasets can be identified and exported by viewing the “Data Collections” link on the homepage.

The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

Collaborative project of National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the National Institute on Aging (NIA). It is a multicohort study of persons 70 years of age and over designed primarily to measure changes in the health, functional status, living arrangements, and health services utilization of two cohorts of Americans as they move into and through the oldest ages.

The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official demographic and social statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually to over 230 national statistical offices and have been published in the Demographic Yearbook collection. The Demographic Yearbook disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce, as well as respective rates, on an annual basis. The Demographic Yearbook census datasets cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing characteristics, ethnicity, language, foreign-born and foreign population.

The IHME collects global health data and provides country profiles, disease factsheets, research publications and data visualizations. Its Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a catalog of data files with free, downloadable data by health topic and geographic location.

NHS England publishes statistics on a range of health and care subjects. These statistics are used to inform debate, decision-making and research both within government and by the wider community.

Connect to data portals and country profiles for PAHO member countries.

Data sources from United Nations databases.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) are nationally-representative household surveys that provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition.

The DHS Program STATcompiler allows users to make custom tables based on hundreds of demographic and health indicators across more than 70 countries. Customize tables to view indicators by background characteristics, over time, and across countries.

The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is an interactive health statistics database containing information from 194 World Health Organization member countries. Also search for data sets and data visualizations.

The World Health Statistics data collections portal provides access to data collection databases by topic, country and regions.

View this MU Resource Guide to learn how to access All of Us data from the NIH. The All of Us Research Program, part of the National Institutes of Health, is a historic effort to collect and study data from a diverse cohort of one million or more participants living in the United States. Researchers can interact with All of Us data through the Research Hub.

Search this portal and download datasets available from several U.S. health agencies. Topics include environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

Search data tools, data visualizations, tables and charts related to healthcare management. Includes HCUP - Healthcare Cost and Utilization (hospitals); MEPS - Medical Expenditure Panel Survey; and State Snapshots (state-specific health care quality information.)

CMS provides data reports and public use datafiles related to programs such as Medicare, Medicaid, Healthcare.gov, hospitals and other types of providers.

Documents variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

HCUP is the nation’s most comprehensive source of hospital data, including information on in-patient care, ambulatory care, and emergency department visits. HCUP enables researchers, insurers, policymakers and others to study health care delivery and patient outcomes over time, and at the national, regional, state, and community levels.

KFF is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Fact sheets and policy reports on each topic include detailed data.

Includes cancer statistics by topic as well as aggregate reported data. Includes breakdowns for common cancer types, geographic area and demographic subgroups.

NIDA monitors the prevalence and trends regarding drug abuse in the United States. Resources cover a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.

From the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, PeriStats provides data on maternal and infant health related to births, deaths, and socioeconomic factors for national, state and local entities. State Report Cards summarize data each state.

The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) measures:
use of illegal drugs, prescription drugs, alcohol, and tobacco
mental disorders, treatment, and co-occurring substance use and mental disorders
The data provides estimates of substance use and mental illness at the national, state, and sub-state levels. NSDUH data also help to identify the extent of substance use and mental illness among different sub-groups, estimate trends over time, and determine the need for treatment services.

SAMHSA has five data collections - Emergency Dept Data (DAWN); Substance Abuse Facilities Data (NSSATS); Mental Health Facilities Data (NMHSS); Client Level Data (TEDS); and Population Data (NSDUH). Also access SAMHSA’s public use data files, analysis tools, and evidence-based practices here. Link is provided to ask for data.