LibGuides: DBA (Doctor of Business Administration): Business Statistics & Datasets

Introduction

This section on Business Statistics includes information on accessing datasets that are available for public use. This introductory section identifies some general websites for searching and identifying datasets. Please refer to the "Help" tab to request further assistance from your librarian!

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR contains a variety of Federal Funded datasets, including 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields, that are free to the general public. There are datasets that Marymount Faculty and students are only able to access due to an ICPSR paid membership. See the ICPSR Libguide for more information.
Harvard Dataverse This link opens in a new window
The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.

Data.gov
The site is a repository for federal and regional government information, made available to the public, as a part of the 2009 US Open Government directive. Search datasets by keyword, national or local organization name.
Google Dataset Search
Search for datasets across multiple subject areas and organizational resources.
Kaggle - Search Datasets
A subsidiary of Google, this online platform allows data scientists, machine learning engineers and general users to post, share and access public datasets on a wide range of topics. Use the filters link to identify topics and content.
more...less...
Business students: Search by company name, product, industry sector and more.
Library of Congress: Dataset Repositories
The Datasets at the Library of Congress: A Research Guide lists several dataset collections by topics such as business, demographics, science and international sources.
National Statistical Agencies of the United States, Other Countries and International Organizations
Scroll down the page for links. Also see Bureau of Labor Statistics: Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web.

MU Related Sources

Research Guide for ICPSR
For help with finding and downloading datasets, thematic collections, and tutorials, see this guide.
SPSS LibGuide
This resource guide from Marymount University Library & Learning Services has been created to provide introductory information on the Statistical Package for Social Sciences (SPSS) software.
Marymount students and staff may log into the MU Portal to access the software at https://my.marymount.edu/Home
Finding Country Information
Marymount University L&LS Research Guide on searching for country information and related statistics.
International Business
Marymount University L&LS Research Guide on searching for finding international business-related resources and statistics.

Search the List of MU Databases to find additional statistical resources.

Business Datasets - United States

FDIC Data Downloads
Find data sources from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). Also refer to their Bank Data Guide on this page
Federal Reserve Economic Data
Accompanies the St. Louis Federal Bank site. Search FRED, the Federal Reserve Economic Data collection by topic to download data.
HUD User - Datasets
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development provides datasets on selected topics. Some data surveys will coordinate with Census and other department data surveys. From the website: date includes "the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population." Also see the HUD User homepage to find statistical reports and studies.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) - Public Use Data Archive
The NBER data archive includes information on industries, finance, trade, health care, demographics, and scientific reports mainly derived from NBER projects and initiatives.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) Open Data
The BEA supports open data by providing national, regional and international dataset access.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) - Data Retrieval Tools
BLS data can be searched or downloaded in a variety of formats. Data series topics include employment, productivity, price indexes, and compensation.
U.S. Census Bureau - Apps
Select a dataset and download Census microdata.
U.S. Census Bureau - Census Datasets
Open access datasets based on a variety of Census topics, including business, industry, and housing.
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) - Data Tools, Apps and Maps
Download national and international energy-related data in a variety of formats.
U.S. Department of Transportation - Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
The BTS provides data and datasets related to all modes of transportation, including airlines, highways, shipping, supply chain indicators, economic indicators, biking, walking and more. Search the word "dataset" to find topics with dataset access.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) - Research Datasets
In support of research related to intellectual property, entrepreneurship, and innovation, the Office of the Chief Economist (OCE) releases datasets to facilitate economic research on patents and trademarks.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Data Resources
Use this webpage to find statistics and datasets to download for research.
USDA Downloadable Data Files
Search this U.S. Department of Agriculture ERS platform for datafiles related to a wide range of agricultural products.

Business Statistics - General Sources

American Economic Association - Data Resources for Economists
Recommended data resources and databases for finding economic data.
FDIC Bank and Data Statistics
Search this collection of databases to find financial data related to FDIC banks, branches or industry sector.
Federal Reserve Board - Data
Use this summary page to find banking data and downloadable statistics on several topics, along with data visualizations and lists of bank assets and liabilities.
IRS Tax Statistics
Search statistical reports from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) on individuals, corporations, and nonprofit organizations.
NAICS Code Lookup (Census Bureau)
TradeStats Express
Compilation of export data by country provided by the Office of Trade and Economic Analysis, International Trade Administration, and the U.S. Department of Commerce.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Customized Tables
BLS Customized Tables create convenient data profiles on the economy, geographic locations, industry sector, and data file locations.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Industries at a Glance
Use this BLS website to find industry snapshots and links to specific data by industry sector. Search by keyword or NAICS code. Snapshots include data summaries for workforce, productivity, price index and other trends. Some state and local data may be included.
U.S. Census Bureau - Business and the Economy
Census Bureau data and reports on business and economic topics.
USAspending.gov
USAspending is the official open data source of federal spending information, covering federal awards such as contracts, grants, and loans. Search and download data or datasets by year, agency, company, contract name and more.
USDA Economic Research Service (ERS)
The U.S. Department of Agriculture ERS provides comprehensive data and research reports on agriculture, food, the environment and rural America.

Search the List of MU Databases to find additional statistical resources.

Business Datasets - International

Refer to the International tab in this guide to see additional resources.

European Union Data Portal
This official portal for European data includes over one million datasets released by EU countries and related organizations.
Eurostat
Search European Union datasets by financial, economic and industry topics.
IMF Data Portal
The International Monetary Fund Data Portal features the latest datasets and data briefs released by the IMF. The Data Explorer allows users to search by dataset, country and topics to generate exportable tables.
UNdata: A world of information
Data sources from United Nations databases. Business students can search datasets by topics such as industry sector, trade, finance, energy and more.
World Bank Group: Finances One Datasets and Visualizations
Finances One is a World Bank Group digital platform that provides users with access to public financial data and portfolio information from across all Group entities.
World Bank Open Data
Data and statistics provided by national governments. Access many data reports compiled by The World Bank such as World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Global Economic Monitor, and African Development Indicators.

World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
Free and open access to global development data including World Development Indicators and hundreds of datasets, including embeddable data visualizations.

USDA International Macroeconomic Data Set
Data for countries that are most important for U.S. agricultural trade