Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicago Style Guide
The Chicago Manual of Style is a flexible system of writing and citing that can accommodate a variety of sources and is used across many disciplines. You may have heard the term Turabian. With the latest editions of The Chicago Manual Style and Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, And Dissertations, the two styles are completely aligned. Turabian's guide is geared toward student writers while The Chicago Manual of Style is expanded for professional writers. If you are unsure which manual to refer to, consult your professor. If you need additional assistance with writing, consider reaching out to:
More Help with Chicago/Turabian Formatting & Citations
These websites may help you better understand the importance of attribution and avoid plagiarism.
Examples of Citations and Footnotes in Chicago/Turabian
Turabian/Chicago Manual of Style uses footnotes/endnotes and bibliography to cite work. Notes must be numbered sequentially through the text and accompanied by a bibliography at the end of the paper. If you need assistance with footnotes or parenthetical citations, consider making an appointment with The Hub.
Turabian Notes and Bibliography Style
The Turabian Citation Quick Guide contains sample notes and bibliography information to assist you.
CMS Notes and Bibliography Style
The Chicago Manual of Style Online maintains robust examples of various forms of citations. The link above will take you to sample citations in Notes and Bibliography Style. The CMS site includes examples of web content, social media, ebooks and more.
Turabian Author-Date Style
The Turabian Citation Quick Guide contains simple and concise examples of Author-Date citations.
CMS Author-Date Style
This link will take you to CMOS Online sample citations in Author-Date Style. This style is sometimes referred to as parenthetical citation.
Contact a Librarian
|| (703) 284-1649
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.