LibGuides: Economics: Finding Statistical Data

Locating Data Sets Online

Google Advanced Search
Enter the topic you are interested in and then the phrase "data sets."

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
*Create a free ICPSR account using your Marymount email to access and download data. ICPSR provides access to social science data sets, including 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Some datasets are restricted access. If you have questions about accessing restricted data, contact a librarian.

Click Here to access the ICPSR research guide for assistance in creating an account, finding and downloading datasets, and more.

USDA International Macroeconomic Data Set
Data for countries that are most important for U.S. agricultural trade

Other Statistics Sources

Economagic
Contains more than 400,000 times series data sets for both the U.S. macroeconomic level and state, county, or local levels.

Statistics from Government Agencies and Departments

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
U. S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Consumer Price Index
The Consumer Price Index is found at the BLS website.
Data.gov
Portal for data and apps development based on the availability of pubilc sector data.
Federal Reserve Economic Data
Accompanies the St Louis Federal Bank site.
Economic Indicators
Source for current releases of data from the U.S. Census and Bureau of Economic Analysis.
Economic Report of the President
Report includes current and foreseeable trends and annual numerical goals concerning topics such as employment, unemployment, and production.
National Statistical Agencies of the United States, Other Countries and International Organizations
Scroll down the page for links. Also see Bureau of Labor Statistics: Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Available online. The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S. Ceased publication in 2012.
TradeStats Express
Compilation of export data by country provided by the Office of Trade and Economic Analysis, International Trade Administration, and the U.S. Department of Commerce.
U.S. Census Bureau--Economic Census
Government site for census data.
U.S. Data and Statistics
Find data and statistics from the Federal Government.

Economic Indicators

Bureau of Economic Analysis. Provides macroeconomic data on U.S. economic indicators regionally, nationally, abroad, and by industry; includes the GDP. Data tables can be viewed by country or sector.

Economic Indicators. The U.S. Council of Economic Advisers provides monthly macroeconomic reports from 1995 onward on “prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.”

U.S. Census Bureau. Economic Indicators. Indicator reports, time series, and data starting as early as the 1950s.

Guide to Economic Indicators
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
Call Number: Request from ILL