The best place to begin looking for curriculum materials is in the Curriculum Materials Center located on the Lower Level. Our main mission is to provide Marymount University’s Department of Education students and faculty with a representative collection of curriculum-related material. We serve as a resource center for students enrolled in MU’s teacher education programs. The collection is classified using the Dewey Decimal System.
The collection in the Curriculum Materials Center includes:
TEXTBOOKS and CURRICULUM KITS – a representative sample of textbooks currently in use by Public School Systems in the area. The collection includes teacher's manuals, additional instructional material, math manipulatives, guided reading sets, and educational games. The curriculum materials support lesson plan creation from preschool through the 12th grade.
JUVENILE LITERATURE – fiction and non-fiction books intended for students from preschool age through middle school. The collection includes the annual award books (Newbery, Caldecott, Pura Belpré, and Coretta Scott King) and titles which are highly recommended for use with children and adolescents. Materials appropriate for high school students are classified within the library’s general collection.
101 Clear Grammar Tests : reproducible grammar tests for ESL/EFL classes
ESL/ELL Teacher's Book of Lists
Teaching for Comprehending and Fluency
Using the Language Experience Approach with English Language Learners : strategies for engaging students and developing literacy
Words Their Way with English Learners
Brain-Compatible Differentiated Instruction for English Language Learners
Fifty Strategies for Teaching English Language Learners
Science for English Language Learners by
Science for English Language Learners brings you the best practices from different but complementary fields of science education and English language teaching, integrating the two. The book is designed so you can easily dip in and out of the topics you want. It's organized into four sections.
Teaching Science to English Language Learners
This link opens in a new window
Writing Sense: integrated reading and writing lessons for English language learners, K-8
Bit, Bat, Bee, Rime with Me! : word patterns and activities, grades K-3
Ladybugs, Tornadoes, and Swirling Galaxies : English language learners discover their world through inquiry
Balancing Reading and Language Learning : a resource for teaching English language learners, K-5
Connecting Content and Academic Language for English Learners and Struggling Students, Grades 2-6
Writing Strategies for All Primary Students : Scaffolding Independent Writing with Differentiated Mini-Lessons, Grades K-3
Words Came Down! : English language learners read, write, and talk across the curriculum, K-2
Integrating the ESL Standards into Classroom Practice by 
Integrating the ESL Standards into Classroom Practice by 
102 Content Strategies for English Language Learners : teaching for academic success in grades 3-12
Making Mathematics Accessible to English Learners 6-12
Integrating the ESL Standards into Classroom Practice by 