Guidelines for Design and Construction of Outpatient Facilities by
Standards to guide the design and construction of outpatient health care facilities
LEEDING the Way by
This book takes you through 53 homes that reflect the growing trend for environmentally-friendly houses. Resource- and energy-efficient residences are designed to be healthy, comfortable, and easy-to-live-in, and construction of a sustainable home includes using less energy, fewer natural resources, and fewer toxic chemicals. The homes featured here meet a variety of guidelines: LEED, a point-based system with specific certification criteria; Green, a construction standard based on reduction of energy use; Passive, a design standard that can result in a super-insulated, airtight home; and Natural, a type of green' construction using natural resources without technological intervention. More than 300 images show a wide variety of designs and styles, including cottages and beach houses, prairie and vineyard residences, prefabricated and renovated homes, and much more.
Sustainability of construction Materials by 
PPI NCIDQ Interior Design Reference Manual, 7th Edition--Includes Complete Coverage of Content Areas for All Three Sections of the NCIDQ Exam by
Comprehensive review for all three exam sections The Interior Design Reference Manual by David Ballast covers all three sections of the NCIDQ exams which include the fundamentals (IDFX), professional (IDPX), and practicum (PRAC) sections. Pass your exams the first time with comprehensive reading materials on all topics. The NCIDQ Interior Design Reference Manual features include: Complete coverage of content areas for all three sections of the NCIDQ Exam Updated for the IBC 2018 changes included in the exam Over 200 figures in SI and U.S. measurements to illustrate design details Study guidelines, exam tips, and tables to support exam preparation New for this edition - revised and updated content to increase exam specification coverage Interior Design Topics Covered Design Concepts and Programming Design Constraints Building Systems and Construction Research, Analysis, and Selection of Products and Details Communication and Documentation Project and Business Management Binding: Paperback About the Publisher: PPI, A Kaplan Company has been trusted by engineering exam candidates since 1975.
The Interior Design Business Handbook by 
Interior Design Sourcebook by 
Professional Practice for Interior Designers by
The leading guide to the business practice of the interior design profession, updated to reflect the latest trends For nearly thirty years, Professional Practice for Interior Designers has been a must-have resource for aspiring designers and practicing professionals. This revised and updated Sixth Edition continues to offer authoritative guidance related to the business of the interior design profession--from the basics to the latest topics and tools essential for planning, building, and maintaining a successful commercial or residential interior design business. Filled with business tips and best practices, illustrative scenarios, and other pedagogical tools, this revised edition contains new chapters on interior design in the global environment, building client relationships, and online marketing communications. The author also includes updated information on web and social media marketing, branding, and prospecting for global projects. Recommended by the NCIDQ for exam preparation, this Sixth Edition is an invaluable resource for early career designers or those studying to enter the profession.
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design by
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design provides a comprehensive guide to design, with entries on key topics in the history and theory of design, addressing a range of design forms including graphic, textile, furniture, metal, ceramic, fashion, stage and film, vehicle and product design, as well as national histories of design and key design movements.The Encyclopedia provides up-to-date peer reviewed coverage of the last 250 years of design history, with global coverage by leading international design scholars and design historians.Complete with a comprehensive index and full cross referencing, The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design is the definitive guide to Design.
Dictionary of Furniture by 
Encyclopedia of Interior Design by 
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Interior Design by
This seminal text demystifies the terminology around being an interior designer today, providing definitions of processes, techniques, features, and even some historical terms that a designer must know. The dictionary now includes coverage of sustainability, smart materials, new technologies, and processes. Coverage of non-Western cultures is expanded and provides insights into their influence in a global marketplace. This comprehensive reference covers multiple aspects of interior design and architecture, addressing structural and decorative features of interiors and their furnishings, business practices, green design, universal design, commercial and residential interiors, new workplace design, and institutional and hospitality facilities.
Beginnings of Interior Environments
A practical approach to introductory interior design.
Color, Space, and Style
A handy, portable sourcebook for all the details of the interior design trade.
The Handbook of Interior Design by
The Handbook of Interior Design explores ways of thinking that inform the discipline of interior design. It challenges readers to consider the connections within theory, research, and practice and the critical underpinnings that have shaped interior design. Offers a theory of interior design by moving beyond a descriptive approach to the discipline to a 'why and how' study of interiors Provides a full overview of the most current Interior Design research and scholarly thought from around the world Explores examples of research designs and methodological approaches that are applicable to interior design upper division and graduate education courses Brings together an international team of contributors, including well established scholars alongside emerging voices in the field - reflecting mature and emergent ideas, research, and philosophies in the field Exemplifies where interior design sits in its maturation as a discipline and profession through inclusion of diverse authors, topics, and ideas
Space Planning Basics by
Conquer the complexity of interior design with a logical, methodical approach Space Planning Basics is a definitive introduction and principle resource for thousands of designers. With step-by-step methodology based on the author's several decades of design experience, this authoritative guide has become the de facto reference for an entire generation of designers. This updated fourth edition includes digitized drawings, diagrams, and matrices throughout, and newly added supplemental photographs. The text has been revised to reflect the latest developments in sustainable and universal design, including coverage of daylighting, benchmarking, LEED system standards, and green code issues. The companion website provides AutoCAD files, intrustor videos and matrices to give you a deeper real-world understanding of the design process.
Designing Commercial Interiors by
A practical, comprehensive resource for commercial interior design Designing Commercial Interiors is the industry standard reference, now fully revised and expanded to reflect the latest developments in commercial interior design. This book guides you through the entire design process, from planning to execution, to teach you the vital considerations that will make your project a success. This new third edition includes new: Sustainability concepts for a variety of commercial spaces Coverage of accessibility, security, safety, and codes--and how these factors influence commercial design Chapters on design research, project process, and project management Drawings and photographs of design applications Supplemental instructor's resources Commercial interior design entails a much more complex set of design factors than residential design, and many of these considerations are matters of safety and law. This book walks you through the process to give you a solid understanding of the myriad factors in play throughout any commercial project, including how the global marketplace shapes designers' business activities. Whether it's a restaurant, office, lodging, retail, healthcare, or other facility, the interior designer's job is much more complicated when the project is commercial. Designing Commercial Interiors is an exhaustive collection of commercial design skills, methods, and critical factors for professionals, instructors, and those preparing for the NCIDQ exam.
Evidence Based Design: a Process for Research and Writing
Evidence-Based Design for Multiple Building Types by 
Design for Critical Care: an Evidence-Based Approach
Design Informed by
The Power of Evidence to Create Design Excellence This practical, accessible book-for design professionals and students alike-is about design excellence and how to achieve it. The authors propose an evidence-based design approach that builds on design ingenuity with the use of research in ways that enhance opportunities to innovate. They show the power of research data to both reveal new design opportunities and convince stakeholders of the value of extraordinary work. A guide for all designers who want to earn their place as their clients' trusted advisor and who aspire to create places of beauty and purpose, the book demonstrates: An approach to applying evidence to design that neither turns designers into scientists nor requires large-firm resources The wide range of types of evidence that can be applicable to design and where to look for it Direct, practical application of the evidence-based design approaches in use today Provides tools to distinguish strong evidence that can improve design decisions from misleading assertions resulting from weak research Benefits of evidence-based design, including improved human and building performance Two featured case studies illustrate the theory and practice of evidence-based design. The work of the authors' 2005-2007 AIA College of Fellows Benjamin Latrobe Research Fellowship provided an empirical foundation for this book, and addresses the use of rigorous research methods to understand relationships between design choices and health outcomes. The California Academy of Sciences, designed by Renzo Piano Building Workshop, Chong Partners Architecture, and Arup, provides transparent evidence that enhances building technology performance in the context of a powerful design expression. In-depth interviews and case studies are clustered around three research categories: modeling, simulation, and data mining; social and behavioral science and the physical and natural sciences; and including cutting-edge use of neuroscience to understand human response to physical environments. The twenty-two featured thought leaders include: William Mitchell, MIT Media Lab; Fred Gage, Salk Institute; Phil Bernstein, Autodesk; Sheila Kennedy, Kennedy & Violich; James Timberlake, KieranTimberlake; William and Chris Sharples, SHoP Architects; Vivian Loftness, Carnegie Mellon University; John Zeisel, Hearthstone; Paco Underhill, Envirosell; Susan Ubbelohde and George Loisos, Loisos+Ubbelohde Architecture-Energy; Chris Luebkeman, Arup; Martin Fischer, Stanford University CIFE; and Kevin Powell, GSA.
Evidence-Based Design of Elementary and Secondary Schools by
An in-depth, evidence-based design approach to the design of elementary and secondary schools The contemporary school must be a vibrant, living extension of its community. "Evidence-Based Design of Elementary and Secondary Schools" instructs design professionals on how to successfully achieve this goal. With assistance from research-intensive principles grounded in theories, concepts, and research methodologies--and with roots in the behavioral sciences--this book examines and provides strategies for pooling streams of information to establish a holistic design approach that is responsive to the changing needs of educators and their students.
Contact MU Libraries
2807 North Glebe Road, Arlington, Virginia 22207
Login to LibApps
